steal52
Accepted Solution

Connecting Samsung Blue Ray Player to wireless network

I have  a Linksys network with two wireless desktops, a laptop and a ROKU player connected to a WRT54G router. I was told to purchase a WAP54G Access Point to connect my Samsung  Player to the internet.  I setup the software on the WAP54G. When connecting the WAP54G to the Samsung player it could not connect to the internet. I also noticed that the laptop would loose it's connection to the internet when the WAP54G was on?  As soon as I disconnected the WAP54G the laptop connection returned to normal.  Since I am new at this any advice is greatly appreciated.
FredZ

Re: Connecting Samsung Blue Ray Player to wireless network

About the only real thing that would force such a disconnection event on a wireless client would be if another device had the same IP.

If your WRT54G is still at its default IP settings then you should be able to leave the WAP54G in its default factory settings and it will function.

All you have to do is ensure there is nothing else on your network with the default IP of the WAP54G (192.168.1.245). 

The only real thing you should  have to set on the WAP54G is the security, as this will have to match that of the WRT54G.

I will also assume you will using the WAP54G as a client device as the player won't have wireless capability and you are connecting to the LAN port of the player. If so just set the mode to AP Client and set the IP within the player to 192.168.1.246 and set the DNS and Gateway to the IP of the WRT54G

Regards

Fred

scrooge

I would suggest you to use a Gaming Adapter(WGA54G/WGA600N) instead of an Access Point to connect your Samsung Blue Ray Player...