Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Do you mean 
Reply
inyewokoma
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎01-13-2007

WAP54G Problems

I picked up a second hand WAP54G at a used computer store.

I am using a Mac running OSX 10.4.8

I have a qwest DSL modem and 5 port hub connected to it

I plugged the WAP54G into the hub and instantly got a wireless signal without any setup. It was still configured to previous user's setting. I decided to reset it so I could make my own settings. After reset I attempted to access the AP via my web browser using 192.168.1.245 and have been unsuccessful. Nothing comes up and the browser times out.

I tried plugging the access point directly into my laptop (not the computer my DSL is connected to) and attempted accessing the AP with 192.168.1.245 again with no luck.

There was no setup CD since I got the unit used.

I can continue to use the AP as it is, although it will not have any security. I would like to access it and set it up for my use.

What should I do?


Summary:

1.Used WAP45G Device

2.No setup CD

3.Wireless network works fine with previous users settings upon initial plugin

4.cannot access web-based features via 192.168.1.245

5.tried device reset and wireless network is fine with default 'linksys' settings but still cannot access via 192.168.1.245

6.Mac OSX 10.4.8

7.Qwest DSL with Actiontec DSL Modem

8.Five port hub plugged into modem

9.Tried plugging WAP54G into a Powerbook, still cannot access directly
inyewokoma
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎01-13-2007

Re: WAP54G Problems

I got this figured out.

Now I am having another problem... the power light is solid red, the link light is solid yellow, but there is no green act light.

I have tried hard reset several times to no avail.
inspector
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎07-25-2006

Re: WAP54G Problems

I am having the same problem seeing the web based admin page on my browser.  How did you figure this out. 
Evil_Spirit
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎01-25-2007

Re: WAP54G Problems

Same problem with web page.
 
Anyone know the solution? Resetting the bloody thing don´t seem to work for me?
Colgrevance
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎01-29-2007

Re: WAP54G Problems

Assuming your AP is still defaulted to 192.168.1.245 go Start>Run> type in CMD in the box and hit enter. type in IPCONFIG in the black and white box and hit enter.

Make sure the IP address resembles the one above, i.e. 192.168.1.xxx
Anything else and you will not be able to connect to the AP.
ramon_c1
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎08-30-2007

Re: WAP54G Problems

1.Used WAP45G Device

2.No setup CD

3.Wireless network works fine with previous users settings upon initial plugin

4.cannot access web-based features via 192.168.1.245

5.tried device reset and wireless network is fine with default 'linksys' settings but still cannot access via 192.168.1.245

6.Windows XP

7.AT&A DSL with Actiontec DSL Modem

8.Five port hub plugged into modem (Wireless Router 802.11g/2.46Hz)

9.Tried plugging WAP54G into a Powerbook, still cannot access directly
 
Dou you have some solve ?
 
FredZ
Posts: 1,928
Registered: ‎07-21-2007

Re: WAP54G Problems

If the Green ACT light doesn't show the WAP54G hasn't fully restarted.
 
Try the following:
Set your PCs IP to 192.168.1.200/255.255.255.0
With the power turned on, press and hold down the reset button for 15 seconds or more then release it.  If you press the button then release it this won't work. The green ACT light should come on after 5-10 seconds.  If not try to ping the WAP54G from the ethernet port "ping 192.168.1.245" if it responds what has happened is it has toasted the firmware and it is waiting for a new firmware to be uploaded via the ethernet port. If it doesn't respond to ping then you have a pretty blue paperwieght. If the unit is still under warranty send it back.  If not you may like to attempt de-bricking your WAP54G, there are plenty of articals on the net in that regard, or if you have trouble PM me and I will send you the info.
 
If the Green ACT light comes up after the reset described then login as normal.
 
 
Regards
 
Fred