Reply
Spider001
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎02-14-2012

Connect two ADSL routers

I was using Linksys ADSL router ( WAG120) as modem router. Recently I bought new Linksys x3000 and installed a modem router in place of WAG120. Now i would like to connect the both routers to get the signals in first floor of my house.

 

Could you please guide me how to do? ( Step by Step )

 

Regards,

Majid

Expert
Expert
Posts: 12,649
Registered: ‎07-16-2006

Re: Connect two ADSL routers

You must connect both with an ethernet cable. Do you have that?
Spider001
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎02-14-2012

Re: Connect two ADSL routers

Yes I have.

Expert
Expert
Posts: 12,649
Registered: ‎07-16-2006

Re: Connect two ADSL routers

Change the LAN IP address of the WAG from 192.168.1.1 to 192.168.1.2. Disable the DHCP server. Wire one of the LAN ports of the WAG to the X3000. That's it.
Spider001
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎02-14-2012

Re: Connect two ADSL routers

Thanks , but which confirguation i have to setup for the following (WAG120 & X3000):

Encapsulation:

Multiplexing :
VPI:
VCI:
Modulation:

 

Regards,

Expert
Expert
Posts: 12,649
Registered: ‎07-16-2006

Re: Connect two ADSL routers

On the X3000: whatever is required by your ISP for your DSL connection.

On the WAG: just keep the defaults. As you don't connect the WAG to your phone line it doesn't matter.
Spider001
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎02-14-2012

Re: Connect two ADSL routers

X3000 is working properly with ADSL now, but I am facing problem with WAG 120 encapsulation.

Expert
Expert
Posts: 12,649
Registered: ‎07-16-2006

Re: Connect two ADSL routers

As I wrote before: you don't have to set encapsulation on the WAG. It's irrelevant. The WAG is not connected to the DSL line
rvirella
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎03-29-2012

Re: Connect two ADSL routers

[ Edited ]

Hello GV,

 

Would this also be the same if I was connecting a E1500 router (to expand my home network) to an existing X3000 ADSL router?  The X3000 is great but unfortunately for me the concrete walls of my villa impede the signal strength to the second floor.  I have every room in the villa wired to the X3000.  So if I connect the E1500 to the LAN cable in my bedroom on the second floor, which is connected the X3000, would the instructions you provide here be the same?  Or do they only apply if both routers are ADSL?

Expert
Expert
Posts: 12,649
Registered: ‎07-16-2006

Re: Connect two ADSL routers

The E1500 is an ethernet router. Configure bridge mode on the E1500 and connect the internet port of the E1500 to your network.