Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Do you mean 
Reply
rwallace50546
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎01-07-2012

Linksys WAG160N reboots every 4 seconds - please help!

My Linksys WAG160N has worked fine for 2 years however all of a sudden when I power it up it's start normal but after 4 seconds all ethernet lights blink one time and all start from the beginning, it's like it reboot every four seconds.

 

It happens so quick I can't even get to the Internet/Network Settings in WIndows Control Panel.

 

I have tried accessing router setup and installing firmware and both have failed - it can not find the network address.

 

If I try to reset with the reset button on the rear (30sec reset), it stops rebooting and the power LED starts to blink red/green and the ethernet LED of the port where my cable is connected starts to blink also.

 

I have set IP address manually on my computer as per the Cisco support pages (192.168.1.1), still no response from ping.
I have also tried to reinstall firmware using TFTP but it also fails because it can not find the network address.

 

When all else fails I turn the router off for a few minutes, but when I power it back up again I'm back with it resetting every 4 seconds.

 

Please help - I have no idea how to fix this?

binky
Posts: 2,613
Registered: ‎09-07-2006

Re: Linksys WAG160N reboots every 4 seconds - please help!

Follow the following steps for Hard Reset:

 

The following procedure will clear out the NVRAM and set Router back to default values:

 

With the unit powered on, press and hold the reset button on back of unit for 30 seconds

Without releasing the reset button, unplug the unit and hold reset for another 30 seconds

Plug the unit back in STILL holding the reset button a final 30 seconds....

 

After doing the following steps check the IP address. To check the IP address that you are getting from the Router...

You can check the IP address in the following manner:

# Click on Start -> All Programs -> Accessories -> Command Prompt.

# A black pop up box should come up, type: "ipconfig /all" …

There check the IP address and Default Gateway under LAN….

rwallace50546
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎01-07-2012

Re: Linksys WAG160N reboots every 4 seconds - please help!

Thanks.

 

OK, I've tried that and its stopped resetting every 4 seconds.

I have tried reinstalling firmware and tried accessing web setup panel but it is still having trouble finding the network router???

 

Please help :-(

 

I have typed in ipconfig all and this is what I get:

 

Windows IP Configuration

Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : RW-Desktop
Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Broadcast
IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No

Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Realtek RTL8168C(P)/8111C(P) Family PCI-E
GBE NIC
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-21-85-19-8F-C8
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::8885:7b2e:b4c0:d593%10(Preferred)
Autoconfiguration IPv4 Address. . : 169.254.213.147(Preferred)
Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.0.0
Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 0.0.0.0
DHCPv6 IAID . . . . . . . . . . . : 167780741
DHCPv6 Client DUID. . . . . . . . : 00-01-00-01-10-BC-17-C4-00-21-85-19-8F-C8

DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : fec0:0:0:ffff::1%1
fec0:0:0:ffff::2%1
fec0:0:0:ffff::3%1
NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Enabled

Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 6:

Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : isatap.LinksysL
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 7:

Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 02-00-54-55-4E-01
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 11:

Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft ISATAP Adapter #2
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

Expert
Expert
Posts: 12,649
Registered: ‎07-16-2006

Re: Linksys WAG160N reboots every 4 seconds - please help!

Set a static IP address on the computer: set IP 192.168.1.2, subnet mask 255.255.255.0.

Then try to ping the router at 192.168.1.1.

If you get responses try to open the web interface at http://192.168.1.1/

If you can't open the web interface but you have got ping responses before you may be able to upload a new firmware file using tftp.
rwallace50546
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎01-07-2012

Re: Linksys WAG160N reboots every 4 seconds - please help!

I can ping that IP, but it won't respond when installing firmware.
It says network address not responding...
rwallace50546
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎01-07-2012

Re: Linksys WAG160N reboots every 4 seconds - please help!

Grrrr :-(

The router has now started resetting itself every 4 seconds again.

This time I have tried a hard-reset and it isn't working...

 

Any suggestions?

Is this fixable?

Expert
RobinsonX7
Posts: 396
Registered: ‎07-25-2011

Re: Linksys WAG160N reboots every 4 seconds - please help!

Hi,

 

Just an Idea, try maybe to replace the AC Power Adapter with a spare one.

Keep in mind to use the same voltage and polarity.

 

Regards,

 

RobinsonX7

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Die Such Funktion ist dein Freund.... und Google auch


Cisco Knowledge Base


Linksys Home Support


------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

binky
Posts: 2,613
Registered: ‎09-07-2006

Re: Linksys WAG160N reboots every 4 seconds - please help!

Yes, changing power supply is an option. Also, try hard reset process again. If nothing helps, could be possible that the hardware has gone bad.

musicmanohyeah
Posts: 179
Registered: ‎07-29-2010

Re: Linksys WAG160N reboots every 4 seconds - please help!

If you cannot recover the firmware to the device, it is dead.

ciguatenejo
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎01-24-2012

Re: Linksys WAG160N reboots every 4 seconds - please help!

Hi,

 

I had same trouble and resolve using another generic Power Suply with same Output.

 

No need to reconfigure, it start and get conected.

 

Best regards.