Reply
lerasioannis
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎07-20-2010
Accepted Solution

WAG320N Static Route.

[ Edited ]

Hello everybody.

 

I'm trying to create a static route in my  WAG320N. The two subnets that I want to connect/route are

192.168.1.0/24 (wag320n IP : 192.168.1.1)  and  192.168.2.0/24 (other gateway/router IP : 192.168.2.1

 

<!-- the gateways are connected via Ethernet cable -->.

 

I go to the Advanced Routing  (@ my WAG320N)  and I try to add a static route:

 

Destination IP Address : 192.168.2.0

Subnet Mask: 255.255.255.0

Gateway :192.168.1.1 (WAG320N's IP Address)

 

When I fill the fields and press Save I get the message :Invalid Gateway Address. Enter Again.

 

Any suggestions on what I'm doing wrong?

 

P.S.. I already have setup a simple static route on the other router with the same pattern.

Expert
Expert
Posts: 12,649
Registered: ‎07-16-2006

Re: WAG320N Static Route.

[ Edited ]
1. Gateway IP address is the IP address of the other router in the 192.168.1.* subnet. (on the internet port of the other router aka the IP address of the next hop).

2. You don't need any static route on the other router.

3. 192.168.2.* probably won't have internet because the WAG will only do NAT for 192.168.1.*.
lerasioannis
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎07-20-2010

Re: WAG320N Static Route.

Hello there!!! Thank you for the reply.

 

If I got right what you are saying , you suggest that the gateway address in the static route should be the IP of the other gateway/router. Well this was my first try to setup and I got the same message. That's why I tried to use the WAG320N IP address (192.168.1.1) in the gateway field.

In the other router I did the same thing -as you also mentioned- and the static rule was created successfully

(IP:192.168.1.0, Subnet:255.255.255.0, Gateway:192.168.1.1).

Still I couldn't ping (192.168.1.1) from the other subnet (192.168.2.x).

Any ideas on why the WAG320N is not accepting the route?

Expert
Expert
Posts: 12,649
Registered: ‎07-16-2006

Re: WAG320N Static Route.

If you don't post the exact routes you have tried noone can tell whether you did it right or not.

It is as it is:

1. The gateway address for the static route on the WAG must be the IP address of the other router in the 192.168.1.* subnet.

2. Using 192.168.1.1 as gateway address on the WAG is useless. You tell the router to route traffic to itself. And then? You must tell the router where to send the traffic.

3. The route on the other router is useless. The router already has this route automatically because it has an IP address in the 192.168.1.0/255.255.255.0 on the internet port, thus it will automatically deliver 192.168.1.0/255.255.255.0 traffic directly on the internet port. Routing this traffic to 192.168.1.1 is useless. The other router delivers it directly.

4. Thus you have to set the IP address of the other router in the 192.168.1.* subnet. For example, if the other router has IP 192.168.1.2/255.255.255.0 on the internet port then you would route 192.168.2.0/255.255.255.0 to gateway 192.168.1.2 on the LAN side of the WAG. The WAG will definitively accept this route.

5. Remember that the other router must not do NAT to make this work.
lerasioannis
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎07-20-2010

Re: WAG320N Static Route.

[ Edited ]

Please let me explain again... I hope this time will be clearer.

 

I own a wag320n router/gateway with a adsl connection and a netfaster iad 2 router/gateway with another adsl connection,

so there are two different subnets 192.168.1.xxx (wag320n) and 192.168.2.xxx (netfaster iad 2). On each router/gateway are connected four or more computers. The only thing that I want to achieve is that the computers connected on 192.168.1.xxx  subnet to communicate with the computers connected in 192.168.2.xxx subnet and vice versa (not to share any internet connection or do NAT to the subnets).

 

So the static route that I tried on wag320n was :

Netowrk IP :192.168.2.0 , Subnet Mask : 255.255.255.0 , Gateway (next-hop) : 192.168.2.1

and also did the same thing on the other router/gateway (netfaster iad 2) :

Netowrk IP :192.168.1.0 , Subnet Mask : 255.255.255.0 , Gateway (next-hop) : 192.168.1.1

which by the way was accepted as a static route unlike the one that I tried on the wag320n.

 

Expert
Expert
Posts: 12,649
Registered: ‎07-16-2006

Re: WAG320N Static Route.

1. You have connected both routers LAN-LAN? You are trying to run two IP subnets in the same LAN. The WAG does not support this.

2. A router has two interfaces: the internet interface and the LAN interface. The default LAN for the WAG is 192.168.1.1/255.255.255.0. It also has an internet IP address and a default gateway on the internet side.

If you configure a static route 192.168.2.0/255.255.255.0 to route to 192.168.2.1 it doesn't make sense. The static route is supposed to tell the router where to send packets for 192.168.2.* to. But how it is supposed to know where to send it to if the next hop gateway IP address 192.168.2.1 is actually in the other subnet? The router still doesn't know where to send 192.168.2.1 to. That's why the WAG320N refuses this route.

3. If you want all computers be able to access each other anyway, why don't you run a single IP subnet? You have all computers in a single LAN anyway. Set all computers to use 192.168.1.*/255.255.255.0 only, e.g. set first router to 192.168.1.1/255.255.255.0 and the second to 192.168.1.2/255.255.255.0. One router can run a DHCP server to provide DHCP to clients which in turn will use that router as default gateway.

All other computer must be configured with static IPs. Which internet connection is used depends on the default gateway IP address that computer. I think that's much easier to handle then trying to route traffic through the LAN. Even if it would work you would send traffic from one computer to the other through the router even though they could communicate directly.

Otherwise, set static routers for the other subnet on the computers. On the computers you can freely decide whether to route traffic or deliver it locally.
lerasioannis
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎07-20-2010

Re: WAG320N Static Route.

[ Edited ]

So, if I want to stick to my case/scenario, how it would be possible to run two different IP subnets in the same LAN?

It would require different equipment/hardware or setup? Generally how it is possible to interconnect two different local subnets?

(Without using LAN to LAN VPN solution).

Expert
Expert
Posts: 12,649
Registered: ‎07-16-2006

Re: WAG320N Static Route.

Again: the WAG320N does not support this kind of setup. It does not allow you to define directly delivered static routes nor secondary IP addresses which is what you needed. You would have to split both subnets and run through another router to get this working... (unless the netfaster iad 2 has two WAN/internet ports).

Generally, you don't run two IP subnets in the same LAN segment but instead put a router between subnets and route between them.