Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Do you mean 
Reply
vega_2007
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎10-19-2007

WAG325N (Ping time ~7k ms and connection dies)

[ Edited ]
Hello,
I got a new problem now or maybe I could call it a old problem becouse I had it with my old WAG325N I hope I can get help to fix this or I trow this ISR in the dustbin.

Now after some use I got the same problem as I had on my old WAG325N (1.00.06) ISR, I did return that one and did get this new one.
The problem is that after ~15 hour of use the WLAN get unstable and disconnect me and the ping time to the router get extreme hight avg. ~7000 ms (~7% lost) and the internet connection goes down but then I view the status page on the router(after waiting 2 min for it to load) it's say that the ADSL connection is good.
The problem gets solved by rebooting(sometimes system restore is needed) the router and then it works fine for another ~15 hour and this problem comes again..

This is the only strange thinks I cane find in the log: (the date is a bit off? )
Sat, 2000-01-01 02:00:15 - /proc/adsl has not been found
(...)
Sat, 2000-01-01 02:01:15 send out NTP request to ntp.nasa.gov
Sat, 2000-01-01 02:02:39 send out NTP request to time-nw.nist.gov

The configuration is:
WAG325N (1.00.08)
RFC 1483 Bridged, DHCP
Wide - 40 MHz (channel 7), 2.452 GHz, SSID Broadcast, WPA2
Firewall On blocking Anonymous (stealth (DMZ))
QoS is on with a few rules
logging is turned on and email alert also

Computers on WLAN:
3xApple computer using wireless N
Ubuntu computer using wireless G
FreeBSD computers using wireless G
(test: Windows XP computer using wireless G)

Computers using wire:
FreeBSD computer using 100Mps (Static IP)
Ubuntu computer using 100Mps (Static IP)
Apple computer using 100Mps
(test: Windows XP computer using 100Mps)

Thanks allot for your help. ^^



------------------------------------------------


Old problem: (fixed)

Hello, I just got my new WAG325N after my first one didn't work and now I wanted to upgrade it to 1.00.08 but then I try to it's false. I "upload" the file and the loadbar starts and it's goes to 3-4% and then the screen just turn white. The other things I would like to have help with is: Can I give one of my computers a fixed IP and have the rest computers have DHCP? And how do I do it? What do the firewall do? Which ports does it block/not block is it "stealth" can I set "advance" firewall rules so I can decide witch ports that should be open closed? Thanks for helping a newb. ^^ Oh btw. --- System Information --- Vendor: Linksys ModelName: WAG325N Firmware Version: A1.00.06, 2006-12-04 Boot Version: 1.0.37-5.4 Hardware Version: 0.01 Message Edited by vega_2007 on 10-20-2007 06:11 AM

Message Edited by vega_2007 on 10-20-2007 02:14 PM

Message Edited by vega_2007 on 10-21-2007 03:20 AM
FredWP
Posts: 594
Registered: ‎10-01-2006

Re: Can't upgrade WAG325N and another questions

1) Make sure you are using the correct firmware for your region. Visit http://www.linksys.com/ and pick your region at the top left. Then look for firmware.
 
2) Yes you can, just leave DHCP enabled and for the PCs you want to give a static IP follow this little guide of mine.
 
3) The SPI firewall on your router simply does as it says, "Stateful Packet Inspection". This means the router will only allow packets in that were requested by a computer inside your network, and block all random incoming packets (they will simply get dumped).
 
This of course unless you add port rules to allow incoming packets, like when hosting servers.
 
4) Also enable block anonymous requests if this is available on your router.
 
5) Enable DMZ to an IP on your network that does not exist. This will stealth all your ports.
 
To test your security of your router go to http://www.grc.com/ and perform the first three tests of ShieldsUp! and if you come out clean on all three tests, your router is secured nicely.
vega_2007
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎10-19-2007

Re: Can't upgrade WAG325N and another questions

[ Edited ]
Thanks for the reply. Helped allot. ^^

But I still got the problem with upgrading. What I can tell it's a EU model (Spain, Danish, Sweden, German, France, United Kingdom) and it's say it's a Annex A on the router.

I tryed the upgrade Annex A from the Swedish, Danish and United Kingdom site but none have worked the all stopped at ~4-5%

Message Edited by vega_2007 on 10-20-2007 06:09 AM
FredWP
Posts: 594
Registered: ‎10-01-2006

Re: Can't upgrade WAG325N and another questions

[ Edited ]
Confirm if you're using Internet Explorer to process this. Always use Internet Explorer when configuring your device through the web control panel.
 
Make sure your Windows is up-to-date as well (fully, through http://update.microsoft.com/ not Windows Update, but Microsoft Update).
 
Also be sure to pick custom scan instead of express scan (and keep updating until 0 updates are left in all 3 categories).


Message Edited by DevFred on 10-20-2007 04:32 PM
vega_2007
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎10-19-2007

Re: Can't upgrade WAG325N and another questions

[ Edited ]
Well that's kinda of a problem I'm in a Apple mac network only no computer is running windows or have internet explorere. ;/

I will try to find a friend with Win laptop to come here and try to update for me. ;p

Edit: Just tried the update with a windows laptop and it worked. ^^
Thanks allot for the help.

Message Edited by vega_2007 on 10-20-2007 09:09 AM
vega_2007
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎10-19-2007

Re: Need help! xD

[ Edited ]
Hello,
I got a new problem now or maybe I could call it a old problem becouse I had it with my old WAG325N I hope I can get help to fix this or I trow this ISR in the dustbin.

Now after some use I got the same problem as I had on my old WAG325N (1.00.06) ISR, I did return that one and did get this new one.
The problem is that after ~15 hour of use the WLAN get unstable and disconnect me and the ping time to the router get extreme hight avg. ~7000 ms (~7% lost) and the internet connection goes down but then I view the status page on the router(after waiting 2 min for it to load) it's say that the ADSL connection is good.
The problem gets solved by rebooting(sometimes system restore is needed) the router and then it works fine for another ~15 hour and this problem comes again..

This is the only strange thinks I cane find in the log: (the date is a bit off? :smileytongue:)
Sat, 2000-01-01 02:00:15 - /proc/adsl has not been found
(...)
Sat, 2000-01-01 02:01:15 send out NTP request to ntp.nasa.gov
Sat, 2000-01-01 02:02:39 send out NTP request to time-nw.nist.gov

The configuration is:
WAG325N (1.00.08)
RFC 1483 Bridged, DHCP
Wide - 40 MHz (channel 7), 2.452 GHz, SSID Broadcast, WPA2
Firewall On blocking Anonymous (stealth (DMZ))
QoS is on with a few rules
logging is turned on and email alert also

Computers on WLAN:
3xApple computer using wireless N
Ubuntu computer using wireless G
FreeBSD computers using wireless G
(test: Windows XP computer using wireless G)

Computers using wire:
FreeBSD computer using 100Mps (Static IP)
Ubuntu computer using 100Mps (Static IP)
Apple computer using 100Mps
(test: Windows XP computer using 100Mps)

Thanks allot for your help. ^^

Message Edited by vega_2007 on 10-20-2007 02:48 PM
wskv975
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎03-15-2014

Re: WAG325N (Ping time ~7k ms and connection dies)

nice to down .subscriiopjs~!