Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Do you mean 
Reply
devoleb
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎12-08-2008

WVC54GCA outside access issue:

I have 2x WVC54GCA

 

Static assigned as 192.168.0.240 and .241

Using Alternate Web Port of 6000 and 6001.

 

Redirecting ports 6000 and 6001 on the firewall to the correct LAN IP.

 

I cannot access either camera via http://1.2.3.4:6000 nor http://1.2.3.4:6001.  The error message I get is:

"The error was: “unknown error” (WebKitErrorDomain:103) ".  

 

 

 

I must be missing something in the camera config.  I'm running a Cisco ASA Firewall and have many other services running on quite a few other LAN machines, so I know how to redirect ports.

 

My concern is that even with the Alternate Web Port config option set to 6000, I can only get to the camera via http://192.168.0.240 (*not* http://192.168.0.240:6000 )

 

Which tells me that even though I have the port option set, the device is still listening on port 80 (http).  This should be incorrect, right?

 

Help? 

 

MyHomeServer
Posts: 146
Registered: ‎04-25-2008

Re: WVC54GCA outside access issue:

Do the cams respond internally using those URL's?  You also say "outside access" - those are INTERNAL IP's and will never work outside

 

First off, you can get to the cam using just the IP, which means port 80 is working. Try 1024 instead of 6000, can you get to the IP now on port 80 AND 1024?  On the WVC54GCA, both ports are open at the same time, this is OK

 

If that works, then try changing the 1024 to 6000 and try again....If that works,then use the domain name or WAN IP and try remotely, using these steps you'll figure it out. 

TZO also has a nice tutorial on the WVC54GCA cams and doing port forwarding, see the Support/Tutorials section under Linksys, and be sure to check out the MyHomeServer.com review on the WVC54GCA and WVC210 cams from Linksys

http://www.MyHomeServer.com

Linksys IP camera reviews, Tutorials and How-To's on Web & Mobile Streaming
devoleb
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎12-08-2008

Re: WVC54GCA outside access issue:

Yes, the camera's work fine via just the LAN IP address (or http://192.168.0.240 ).  When I was talking about the "outside access", I was referring to being outside the location and trying to view the cams by going to http://1.2.3.4:6000 (where 1.2.3.4 is my WAN address).

 

I haven't tried 1024.  I was not aware that 1024 was open by default.  Are any other services run on 1024 by default?  If not, then I can easily change the Firewall's config to redirect to that port instead of 6000.

 

I'll try it out today and respond back.

 

Bream_R
Posts: 16
Registered: ‎08-23-2008

Re: WVC54GCA outside access issue:

Be aware that, if you put your cameras live on the internet using port 1024, bots and spiders will find it. If you don't have any upload limitations it shouldn't cause a serious problem, but, if enough of them log into your camera, the response time may be slow or you'll find that you can't access it at all.
kevj
Posts: 689
Registered: ‎07-16-2006

Re: WVC54GCA outside access issue:

The 'altenate port' setting provides an additional port for the camera to listen on. It listens on both 80 AND the alternate....can you connect to the camera while on the LAN using the internal IP and alternate port?
-------------------------------------
Tomato 1.25vpn3.4 (SgtPepperKSU MOD) on a Buffalo WHR-HP-G54
D-Link DSM-320 (Wired)
Wii (Wireless) - PS3 (Wired), PSP (Wireless) - XBox360 (Wired)
SonyBDP-S360 (Wired)
Linksys NSLU2 Firmware Unslung 6.10 Beta unslung to a 2Gb thumb, w/1 Maxtor OneTouch III 200Gb
IOmega StorCenter ix2 1TB NAS
Linksys WVC54G w/FW V2.12EU
and assorted wired and wireless PCs and laptops
devoleb
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎12-08-2008

Re: WVC54GCA outside access issue:

Sorry, I haven't been back to the client site to test things out again, but:

 

Remoting in I am still *able* to connect to http://192.168.0.240 and view the camera.  And I am still *unable* to connect to http://192.168.0.240:6000 even though I have the alternate port set to 6000 in the config.

 

This must be the source of my problem, but the setting is there, and I'm still unable to do anything with it.

 

Something I'm missing?

 

kevj
Posts: 689
Registered: ‎07-16-2006

Re: WVC54GCA outside access issue:

Umm....I am a bit confused...you say 'remoting' in you can connect to 192.168.0.240....does that mean via a public IP and port forwarded at the Pix?

 

I assume you have checked the Pix logs to se if the traffic to port 600 is being allowed. If you can't connect to port 6000 from the local network, then it is probably something wrong wit the camera config....my best suggesttion would be to disable the alternate port option, save the config, then re-enable it and save again, then try to connect.

 

You can find out if the camera is listneing on port 6000 by telnetting to that port...it should at least connect....

-------------------------------------
Tomato 1.25vpn3.4 (SgtPepperKSU MOD) on a Buffalo WHR-HP-G54
D-Link DSM-320 (Wired)
Wii (Wireless) - PS3 (Wired), PSP (Wireless) - XBox360 (Wired)
SonyBDP-S360 (Wired)
Linksys NSLU2 Firmware Unslung 6.10 Beta unslung to a 2Gb thumb, w/1 Maxtor OneTouch III 200Gb
IOmega StorCenter ix2 1TB NAS
Linksys WVC54G w/FW V2.12EU
and assorted wired and wireless PCs and laptops
kevj
Posts: 689
Registered: ‎07-16-2006

Re: WVC54GCA outside access issue:

Also, look here:

 

http://discussions.apple.com/thread.jspa?threadID=1600338

 

Looks like you are using Safari......have you tried a different browser?

-------------------------------------
Tomato 1.25vpn3.4 (SgtPepperKSU MOD) on a Buffalo WHR-HP-G54
D-Link DSM-320 (Wired)
Wii (Wireless) - PS3 (Wired), PSP (Wireless) - XBox360 (Wired)
SonyBDP-S360 (Wired)
Linksys NSLU2 Firmware Unslung 6.10 Beta unslung to a 2Gb thumb, w/1 Maxtor OneTouch III 200Gb
IOmega StorCenter ix2 1TB NAS
Linksys WVC54G w/FW V2.12EU
and assorted wired and wireless PCs and laptops