Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Do you mean 
Reply
cuco
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎10-12-2007

port 1024 is blocked by ISP, only 80 is open, what can I do to access my camara from the internet?

HI, im having a really tough time accessing my camaras online. I turns out that my ISP blocks port 1024, aparently they want to make me pay for a fixed IP, which I cannot afford to do. Is there something I can do to access my camara from the internet? can I change it to port 80, which aparently is open? I need help, and im not to tech savy... I apreciate any asistance..
TZO-Dot-COM
Posts: 38
Registered: ‎08-24-2007

Re: port 1024 is blocked by ISP

[ Edited ]
If your port 1024 is blocked, I'd suggest running on port 80 and if port 80 is blocked as well, change the camera to 1025, try that, 1026, etc until you find a port that is open Keep in mind that it's best to set the camera to a static IP address, so if you use a Linksys router, this means something like 192.168.1.200 or higher. Doing this makes sure the camera stays at the same IP if you have a power outage, and it also makes the port forwarding easier.

In the camera, you first need to set the static IP on the camera itself (this is a STATIC LAN IP, not a static WAN IP that your ISP would like you to buy!) Once you set the static IP, look for PORT settings on the camera. Try 80 first. Then go into your router, forward port 80 to 192.168.1.200 (or whatever you set the static IP to) You should then go to http://www.mywanIP.com and find your WAN IP address, then call a buddy on the net and ask them to go to http://YOURWANIPADDRESS and see if they see the camera login screen. If they do, it works. If they don't, then you may not have set the Static IP on the camera properly, or the port forwarding may be setup wrong in the router.


If port 80 doesnt work, change the camera to port 1025, then change the router forwarding to 1025 instead of 80 and then try again using the http://YOURWANIPADDRESS: port (thats a COLON: PORT - where port in this case would be 1025)

Keep doing this until you find a port that works, then you should elimintate the IP address issue by going with a Dynamic DNS service such as TZO.COM (http://www.tzo.com/Linksys) - this will eliminate the need to use an IP address and you can then use a domain name like YourName.LinksysCam.com instead of a constantly changing IP address.

Best of Luck..

Message Edited by TZO-Dot-COM on 10-12-2007 02:12 PM
Icebreaker
Posts: 1,179
Registered: ‎06-30-2007

Re: port 1024 is blocked by ISP

Try port 8000-8009, almost always never blocked as it is a free port, not associated with any application or protocol.
dcalcutt
Posts: 308
Registered: ‎08-28-2007

Re: port 1024 is blocked by ISP

Try a differnt ISP.
Darrin J. Calcutt, CEO, COO

Canadian Locomotive Logistics


http://atc.lovethosetrains.com

http://my.hdvideo.ca
cuco
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎10-12-2007

Re: port 1024 is blocked by ISP



TZO-Dot-COM wrote:
If your port 1024 is blocked, I'd suggest running on port 80 and if port 80 is blocked as well, change the camera to 1025, try that, 1026, etc until you find a port that is open Keep in mind that it's best to set the camera to a static IP address, so if you use a Linksys router, this means something like 192.168.1.200 or higher. Doing this makes sure the camera stays at the same IP if you have a power outage, and it also makes the port forwarding easier.

In the camera, you first need to set the static IP on the camera itself (this is a STATIC LAN IP, not a static WAN IP that your ISP would like you to buy!) Once you set the static IP, look for PORT settings on the camera. Try 80 first. Then go into your router, forward port 80 to 192.168.1.200 (or whatever you set the static IP to) You should then go to http://www.mywanIP.com and find your WAN IP address, then call a buddy on the net and ask them to go to http://YOURWANIPADDRESS and see if they see the camera login screen. If they do, it works. If they don't, then you may not have set the Static IP on the camera properly, or the port forwarding may be setup wrong in the router.


If port 80 doesnt work, change the camera to port 1025, then change the router forwarding to 1025 instead of 80 and then try again using the http://YOURWANIPADDRESS: port (thats a COLON: PORT - where port in this case would be 1025)

Keep doing this until you find a port that works, then you should elimintate the IP address issue by going with a Dynamic DNS service such as TZO.COM (http://www.tzo.com/Linksys) - this will eliminate the need to use an IP address and you can then use a domain name like YourName.LinksysCam.com instead of a constantly changing IP address.

Best of Luck..

Message Edited by TZO-Dot-COM on 10-12-2007 02:12 PM


Hi, thanks for all your help but I still cannot make it work, Ive tried most of the ports you said and they are all blocked, I cannot access my routers options because it has a password from the ISP, what can I do? my camara cannot be set to port 80 only 1024 and up. Thanks
Icebreaker
Posts: 1,179
Registered: ‎06-30-2007

Re: port 1024 is blocked by ISP

Port 80 is on by default. Have you already tried port 8000?
cuco
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎10-12-2007

Re: port 1024 is blocked by ISP

yes, port 8000 also seems to be blocked...
don Otto
Posts: 69
Registered: ‎09-15-2007

Re: port 1024 is blocked by ISP

Who is your ISP?  And how did you verify that those ports are blocked?
Krishkrish
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎06-30-2008

Re: port 1024 is blocked by ISP

Etisalat is my ISP...but when i spoke with etisalat technician he told this port is open.i tried with port 5000 also..but its still persisting.
bartelsjoshuac
Posts: 91
Registered: ‎09-09-2006

Re: port 1024 is blocked by ISP

Perhaps your ISP blocks all incoming HTTP connections, no matter what port.  Quite common with DSL.  You could try a port associated with a common allowed protocol, but that'll cause some other funny stuff to happen to.