Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Do you mean 
Reply
remaker
Posts: 41
Registered: ‎11-03-2006

Re: valet Plus with mac OS 10.7 (Lion)

The Cisco Connect FAQ has information and pointers about Cisco Connect and Lion compatability.

 

Specifically, it points to KB Article 23897 which has a compatability table. 

 

If your platform is not yet Lion compatible, you can still configure it with the web based interface at http://192.168.1.1.

 

 

homegrown
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎12-22-2011

Re: valet Plus with mac OS 10.7 (Lion)

I have the same problem with lion (mac OS 10.7.2)

kslimmon
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎01-02-2012

Re: valet Plus with mac OS 10.7 (Lion)

i have the same problem with e1000 and lion.  when I try to get on through http://192.168.1.1 it asks for username and password, but i don't remember those!  that's the whole reason I am trying to get on cisco connect.  any ideas

duersont
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎03-01-2012

Re: valet Plus with mac OS 10.7 (Lion)

I used all available options I could find in FAQ, downloads, etc.  Talked to a polite Cisco Chat representative.  Cisco recommends a $30-40 service fee to get assistance to manually setup the Valet since it is outside the warrantee window.  Seems Valet Plus (M20) remains unsupported with a solution to be compatible with OS 10.7 (lion). 

 

Very, very disappointing since the Valet was marketed as the easy setup solution.  If you are on a Mac running the OS 10.7 (lion) operating system, it is no longer easy.   I recommend finding a different router; hopefully one that will fulfill the “easy setup” promise.

jondron
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎01-03-2012

Re: valet Plus with mac OS 10.7 (Lion)

Yes, I'd like to bump this up - my M20 cannot be managed without going via a virtual PC, which is not exactly the easiest way of going about it. Surely it's not *that* hard to upgrade the software, as it has been done for other routers in the series? Disappointing: it wasn't the cheapest solution but I wrongly assumed that Cisco would be reliable and supportive. It puts me off buying Cisco again.

Jerry Lineberger
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎12-19-2011

Re: valet Plus with mac OS 10.7 (Lion)

Ditto on rhe future purchases. I think an Airport is in my future.... Sorry Cisco. I guess those of us at the bottom of the food chain get no updates.
pattysays
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎05-11-2012

Re: valet Plus with mac OS 10.7 (Lion)

I JUST PURCHASED THIS THINKING IT WOULD BE A BREEZE. WOW I WAS WRONG. I DID MANAGE TO SET UP MANUALLY AND THANKS TO ME DOING ALOT OF RESEARCH I FOUND AN IPOD/IPHONE APP FROM CISCO THAT WORKS WITH THE M20 AND ALLOWS YOU TO MANAGE AND CHANGE PASSWORDS. CHECK IT OUT AS ITS FREE

remaker
Posts: 41
Registered: ‎11-03-2006

Re: valet Plus with mac OS 10.7 (Lion)

Good find!

 

The app is called "Cisco Linksys Connect Express" and if you have iOS or Android devices you can get it free!

 

http://home.cisco.com/en-us/mobile/apps

http://itunes.apple.com/us/app/id470936137

https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?id=com.cisco.connect.express&hl=en

 

For a list of devices supported by Cisco connect on Lion 10.7 see

http://www6.nohold.net/Cisco2/ukp.aspx?pid=80&app=vw&vw=1&login=1&json=1&docid=a4e763be954243cfa0ab9...

 

 

ddemusisdekle
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎03-15-2014

Re: valet Plus with mac OS 10.7 (Lion)

How do you point your browser?  I am using a macBook Pro and need to change my valet settings.

CKenneth
Posts: 216
Registered: ‎10-30-2013

Re: valet Plus with mac OS 10.7 (Lion)

Open any browser, like Safari or Chrome. Type in 192.168.1.1 in the address bar and press enter. It will prompt you for a username and password. Type admin for the username and for the password field, it will be the password of your wireless connection. You should be in the page after that.