Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Do you mean 
re4877

Neighbor stealing my internet!

Had a router for a year or so before I realized that neighbors were using my wireless connection.  Today I installed the easylink advisor and secured my connection but in the my network section I see my Pc and my laptop but also still see one of my neighbors computers there.  How do I remove it?
Rottie95

Re: Neighbor stealing my internet!

Hello newbie, I am a newbie here too.  One thing I found out was to password my router with a name that no one would think of.  That way they should be able to access your connection.  I was told to never leave the username as admin.

Hope this helps.

Karen
muffking

That's one way to stop them playing with the router, but you really should enable WEP or WPA with a password attached that only you PC's will save for autologin.
re4877

Its not an issue with my router, that is passworded and safe, its just that in the EasyLink advisor I still see his computer as a little icon in the my network section.  He cant connect, he doesnt have the key, but his computer is still there and I was wondering how to get rid of it from the EasyLink advisor my network section...  anyone?
Funky

I just installed EasyLink Advisor as well but here's an added factor...I just moved into the neighborhood?!?  I noticed a neighbor's computer on my network that was so nicely depicted by E.L. Advisor...so I made sure I used WEP encryption and even took advantage of the "permit only" feature that you enter the MAC addresses of your computers.  But it still shows up?!?  There is that "HIDE DEVICE" button but I want o make sure it's deleted and not just hidden.  Any ideas or feedback?
slschritter

I don't know what my password is to do this. Does anyone know how to reset a password? Thanks for the good thread of info.
BigDawg

It sounds to me that what you are looking for is Windows XP/Vista support.  What you are describing is your Windows Network Neighborhood.