Reply
120597
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎07-27-2010

Platform service

I try to open Network Magic and it says "The platform service is not running" when I click restart the plat form service it says it can't be restarted. I can't figure out how to get it working again so I can use Network Magic. How do I fix it?

desmond37
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎12-04-2010

Re: Platform service

I try to open Network Magic and it says "The platform service is not running" when I click restart the plat form service it says it can't be restarted. I can't figure out how to get it working again so I can use Network Magic. How do I fix it?

thecreator
Posts: 476
Registered: ‎03-12-2007

Re: Platform service


desmond37 wrote:

I try to open Network Magic and it says "The platform service is not running" when I click restart the plat form service it says it can't be restarted. I can't figure out how to get it working again so I can use Network Magic. How do I fix it?


Hi desmond37,

 

Did you Read Before you Post on this Board? You haven't post any information.

thecreator - Running Network Magic version -5.5..9195.0-Pure0 on Windows XP Home Edition SP 3
Running Network Magic version -5.5.9195.0-Pure0 on Wireless Computer with McAfee Personal Firewall Build 11.5.131 Wireless Computer has D-Link DWA-552 connecting to D-Link DIR-655 A3 Router.
DerekGCWhite
Posts: 36
Registered: ‎04-15-2008

Re: Platform service

120597,

 

If you look in the Windows Event Viewer (Start->type in Event->Select Event Viewer), when open - expand the Windows Logs section and select the Applications Logs

 

Have a look and see if there is a Error (red filled circle with a white exclamation mark inside) and check to see if nmsrvc.exe is the program that is aborting (the error should be logged at the time you attempted to either start or restart the service

 

If that is the case you then have a similar problem to mine, see today's hot topic. Anything you could add to the information I have already provided would probably expidite the process

 

Best of luck

Derek GC White - Running Network Magic version -5.5..9195.0-Pure0 on Windows 7 x64 Home Premium on Wired Computer with Kasperky Internet Security (latest version)
1GB Realtek PCIe NIC v 7.34.1130.2010 via Netgear GS105 Hub to Netgear GS108 Hub to Netgear SRXN3205 WiFi VPN Router to Draytek Vigor120 ADSL2+ "modem"
GA-Z68XP-UD3, 8GB G.Skill Ripjaw DDR3
RAID0 - 2 x OCZ Vertex 3 SSD
RAID5 - 3 x 1TB Samsung Spinpoint F3 accelerated by 1 x Runcore mSATA SSD
RAID 1 - 2 x 500GB Hitachi
2 x ATi HD5750 Crossfire
marcusbacus
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎03-05-2011

Re: Platform service

[ Edited ]

I'm having the same problem. Got my router yesterday, it's working fine, except for the Network Magic. If I knew which service is this "Platform", I could easily try to restart it, but the problem is that I can't figure which service it is from its descriptive name. I'm not really sure if I really need to run this Network Magic stuff, but it would be nice to at least try it.

I checked the event log and there is no error.

DerekGCWhite
Posts: 36
Registered: ‎04-15-2008

Re: Platform service

What type of router is it?

 

 

Derek GC White - Running Network Magic version -5.5..9195.0-Pure0 on Windows 7 x64 Home Premium on Wired Computer with Kasperky Internet Security (latest version)
1GB Realtek PCIe NIC v 7.34.1130.2010 via Netgear GS105 Hub to Netgear GS108 Hub to Netgear SRXN3205 WiFi VPN Router to Draytek Vigor120 ADSL2+ "modem"
GA-Z68XP-UD3, 8GB G.Skill Ripjaw DDR3
RAID0 - 2 x OCZ Vertex 3 SSD
RAID5 - 3 x 1TB Samsung Spinpoint F3 accelerated by 1 x Runcore mSATA SSD
RAID 1 - 2 x 500GB Hitachi
2 x ATi HD5750 Crossfire
marcusbacus
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎03-05-2011

Re: Platform service

Linksys WRT54GH

Nevermind, I uninstalled Network Magic.

DerekGCWhite
Posts: 36
Registered: ‎04-15-2008

Re: Platform service

OK,

 

For the information of others that may follow this link I was able to create the problem and remove the problem at will by simply switching out one router and replacing it with another - everything else about my network stayed the same (all network entities are plugged into switches).

 

When I went back to the original router the problem reappeared

 

It was uneffected by all the other recommendation - reboot, deinstall/reinstall/etc.

Derek GC White - Running Network Magic version -5.5..9195.0-Pure0 on Windows 7 x64 Home Premium on Wired Computer with Kasperky Internet Security (latest version)
1GB Realtek PCIe NIC v 7.34.1130.2010 via Netgear GS105 Hub to Netgear GS108 Hub to Netgear SRXN3205 WiFi VPN Router to Draytek Vigor120 ADSL2+ "modem"
GA-Z68XP-UD3, 8GB G.Skill Ripjaw DDR3
RAID0 - 2 x OCZ Vertex 3 SSD
RAID5 - 3 x 1TB Samsung Spinpoint F3 accelerated by 1 x Runcore mSATA SSD
RAID 1 - 2 x 500GB Hitachi
2 x ATi HD5750 Crossfire
banana0125
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎01-01-2012

Re: Platform service

Error message "Platform services not running". How to restart it? Clicked on :try to restart" but nothing happens. Rebooted system but did not solve. Unable to run NM.

thecreator
Posts: 476
Registered: ‎03-12-2007

Re: Platform service


banana0125 wrote:

Error message "Platform services not running". How to restart it? Clicked on :try to restart" but nothing happens. Rebooted system but did not solve. Unable to run NM.


Try starting the Platform Service via Services. If it doesn't work, open up Platform Services and see if anything that Platform Service depends on is not starting up or disabled.

thecreator - Running Network Magic version -5.5..9195.0-Pure0 on Windows XP Home Edition SP 3
Running Network Magic version -5.5.9195.0-Pure0 on Wireless Computer with McAfee Personal Firewall Build 11.5.131 Wireless Computer has D-Link DWA-552 connecting to D-Link DIR-655 A3 Router.