tm2@sbcglobal.net
Accepted Solution

Can't write to NAS200

Running Windows XP.

I try to write on my NAS200 drive - can't do it.

I CAN write to the USB hanging off the back of the NAS200.

does this have to do with FAT32 on PC and NAS200 drives being NTSF?

Trouble is - I am a total newbie and only understand 1/2 of what I'm reading.

Is there software that will let me write to NAS200 from my pc ? So I can put my photos and music etc out there ?

Thanks

T

scrooge

Re: Can't write to NAS200

What error message do you get when you try to write on the NAS200 ?

Are you able to access the drives connected to the NAS200 all the time without any problems ?

Are you facing this problem since you bought it ?

tm2@sbcglobal.net

[ Edited ]
The Error:
Error Copying Cannot Copy whatever filename: Access denied
Make sure the disk is not write-protected and that the file is not currently in use.

When I go to the Linksys Admin 192.168.1.7
and login as administrator I have two users.
Admin and Guest.

There are 3 shared Folders
Disk 1 (for admin R/W and for Guest Read Only)
HDD_1_1 (for admin and Guest both R/W) - I'm pretty sure this is the USB hanging off the NAS so all users have read/Write right to Shared Folders of USB disks.
PUBLIC DISK 1 (for admin R/W and for Guest Read Only)

I guess I was assuming that  I am User=admin. But now I realize there si no way for the NAS to know who I am ? Perhaps I am guest? or perhaps I need to make a User the name of  my login on my XP machine?

So, to test to see if I was coming in as guest I changed
PUBLIC DISK 1 to R/W for admin AND Guest.
Disk 1 will not allow me to give Guest ANY rights. It is on No Access with other options greyed out.
I still can not copy to the drive. Still have same eror.
FIXED:! THank you for making write out the error message. It made me think. I disconnected all mapping to the NAS and remapped using the administrator login etc... AND I CAN WRITE ADN DELETE! THANK YOU!