Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Do you mean 
Reply
asad5m
Posts: 13
Registered: ‎03-04-2012

Is it possible to use the built-in Ethernet port in the RE1000 to Minimize Decreasing throughput

Kindly 

 

Is it possible to use the built-in Fast Ethernet (10/100 Mbps) port to extend the network with an Ethernet cable without placing the extender in an area where you still have at signal ?

 

because i dont want to decrease the wireless through-put by 50 % .

 

I would like to Expand the network  network by running an Ethernet cable from an RE4200(Basement floor ) router to the end of  the RE1000 built-in Fast Ethernet (10/100 Mbps) port in the second floor..

 

 

peanuts
Posts: 3,117
Registered: ‎09-07-2006

Re: Is it possible to use the built-in Ethernet port in the RE1000 to Minimize Decreasing throughp

The Linksys RE1000 Wireless-N Range Extender includes a built-in Fast Ethernet (10/100 Mbps) port, which works as a wireless bridge to instantly connect any wired Ethernet device to your network. To ensure the proper configuration of the range extender, you need to know the wireless settings of your router or access point.  These settings are:

 

• SSID

• Wireless Channel

• Wireless Security and Network Key

Here is the link for manually configuring a range extender: http://www6.nohold.net/Cisco2/ukp.aspx?vw=1&docid=206954591ff54e36884bb4636fcfd3d9_Manually_configur...

 

Once your range extender gets sync with your router you can make the RE1000 as a Bridge...

asad5m
Posts: 13
Registered: ‎03-04-2012

Re: Is it possible to use the built-in Ethernet port in the RE1000 to Minimize Decreasing throughp

 

Thank you for your response.

 

Is it possible to use the Ethernet  port to extend the network with an Ethernet cable without placing the extender in an area where you still have at signal ?

 

Example:

  • i will run a cable from basment (  ER4200) to the  RE1000 in  3rd floor whrer  thre is no signal

 

 

 

 

peanuts
Posts: 3,117
Registered: ‎09-07-2006

Re: Is it possible to use the built-in Ethernet port in the RE1000 to Minimize Decreasing throughp

Well, the feature that you are looking for is not available in RE1000. So, for that you need to have an Access Point..

asad5m
Posts: 13
Registered: ‎03-04-2012

Re: Is it possible to use the built-in Ethernet port in the RE1000 to Minimize Decreasing throughp

Wich device include this  feature ?

 

the feature of  extending the network with a cable ?

 

The feature of extending the network with a cable in place where there are no signal.

asad5m
Posts: 13
Registered: ‎03-04-2012

Re: Is it possible to use the built-in Ethernet port in the RE1000 to Minimize Decreasing throughp

Thank you for your response and your reference.

 

 

peanuts
Posts: 3,117
Registered: ‎09-07-2006

Re: Is it possible to use the built-in Ethernet port in the RE1000 to Minimize Decreasing throughp

[ Edited ]

I mentioned in the previous post that you need to have an Access Point. So, the Model Number for the Access Point is WAP610N. The key features are:

• Add high-speed Wireless-N to your existing network

• The perfect partner for wireless video streaming

• Operates in the 2.4 and 5 GHz radio bands -- choose the one with least congestion in your area

 

Here is the link for more information: http://homesupport.cisco.com/en-us/support/accesspoints/WAP610N