Reply
tnine
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎08-23-2008

Setting up PLE400 and PLW400 as a wireless bridge

Hi all,
I'm having some issues with my PLE400 PLW400 I could use a hand with. My parents house didn't have full wireless coverage, and it's quite old, so the signal doesn't travel well. I have an existing WRT120N wireless router. It has the following setup.

 

IP: 192.168.1.1
Netmask: 255.255.255.0

 

I then installed the PLE400 PLW400. I've upgraded the firmware to the latest on both, here are the versions.

 

PLE400: 2.1.9
PLW400: 1.0.07

 

PLW400 Ip config

 

IP: 192.168.1.2

Netmask: 255.255.255.0


All of the wireless and wireless clients correctly acquire a DHCP lease from the WRT120N. However, their printer is wireless connected to the PLW400. When clients such as my mac connected to the WRT120N attempt to discover the printer via broadcast, it fails. However, direct IP connection to the printer (192.168.1.101) does succeed. Is there a way to allow the broadcast connections from the WRT120N through to the PLW400 clients? I'm a distributed computer software engineer, so I'm relatively familiar with IPv4. All the subnets look right and routing is working, I just can't figure this one out..

 

Thanks,
Todd

earthmyrll120288
Posts: 1,037
Registered: ‎07-13-2012

Re: Setting up PLE400 and PLW400 as a wireless bridge

You mentioned that all wireless devices correctly acquire an ip from the WRT120N. But did you connect a computer wirelessly to the PLW400 and is it able to go online? I assume that the default gateway is already 192.168.1.1 on the PLW400 since you indicated that the ip address is on the same range. If a computer is able to go online behind the PLW400 do a test. Check if you are able to ping the PLW400 using one of the computers and if it will send out a reply. Then check if the computer connected to the PLW400 will be able to communicate to other computers that are connected behind the router. This way we can pinpoint if it is the PLW400 that has a problem or is it with the printer. BTW what is the brand,make or model of your printer?

tnine
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎08-23-2008

Re: Setting up PLE400 and PLW400 as a wireless bridge

[ Edited ]

Hi earthmyrll120288,
All routing and connectivity works. I can connect several clients to the PLW400. They correctly acquire a DHCP lease from the WRT120N, and are routed to the local network or internet correctly.

The PLW400 gateway is 192.168.1.1

If I wirelessly connect the printer up to the WRT120N, and my laptop to the PLW400, I can discover it via the broadcast that's used to discover it. However, when I connect my laptop to the WRT120N, and the printer to the PLW400, this does not work. It seems that the packets aren't routed by the PLW400 to it's clients correctly when it's received via the powerline network.

Since the inverse is true, and everything can be pinged, it seems to be something specific to the Bonjour protocol that isn't getting forwarded. Is it possibly a routing issue from the WRT120N to the PLW400 since it is treated as just another endpoint device and not as a router with it's own subnet and clients?

Would I bet better to set the WRT120N to 192.168.1.1 and the PLW400 to 192.168.2.1, then use a netmask of 255.255.0.0?

Thanks,
Todd

Expert
zee29
Posts: 1,329
Registered: ‎04-22-2012

Re: Setting up PLE400 and PLW400 as a wireless bridge

I don't think that setup will work. Because if you set the PLW to 192.168.2.1 it will set it apart. You are creating a different network for it. So it will not make the printer work. With this setup it should work. Why not do DHCP reservation on the router for the printer. Then check if the router is still able to detect the printer by checking thru the DHCP client's table. What is the brand,make or model of your printer?

tnine
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎08-23-2008

Re: Setting up PLE400 and PLW400 as a wireless bridge

[ Edited ]

The printer does get a DHCP lease from the WRT120N router when connected via the PLW400 wireless access point

 

The printer is an HP Photosmart Premium C309g-m

 

Here are my leases.  The printer is the 192.168.1.101 client.  You can see it's physically connected via the PLW400/PLE400 combo. 

 

 


 

Note that if I connect my laptop to the PLW400 wireless access point, I have no problems discovering the printer.  Only when my laptop is connected to the WRT120N and the printer connected to the PLW400 does it fail.

ylime1984
Posts: 1,206
Registered: ‎05-04-2012

Re: Setting up PLE400 and PLW400 as a wireless bridge

 

This type of set up should actually work since one of the features of the PLW400 can let you connect an ethernet connection to a non-wireless capable device like a pc while acting as a wireless access point for your other wireless devices.

 

Installing the PLW400:

http://www6.nohold.net/Cisco2/GetArticle.aspx?docid=7ca90024f38b4e2585ff44a1ee8a7fe8_KB_EN_v1.xml&pi...

 

Setting up a wireless network with the PLWK400:

http://www6.nohold.net/Cisco2/ukp.aspx?vw=1&docid=8d90197164e74fc6a784923edb26df6d_Setting_up_a_wire...

 

Creating a network and sharing Internet access using Powerline adapters:

http://www6.nohold.net/Cisco2/ukp.aspx?pid=80&vw=1&articleid=17153

 

Please check also the settings you had configured on the router because both the PLW400 and WRT120N should have the same wireless settings.

 

I hope you will find these link beneficial.

tnine
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎08-23-2008

Re: Setting up PLE400 and PLW400 as a wireless bridge

[ Edited ]

Thanks for the doc.  Unfortunatley I've set it up exactly as described.  Just to be sure I've reset everything to factory settings and started from scratch.  I get the same result.  Everything works except Bonjour to clients of the PLW400, either wired or wireless.

ylime1984
Posts: 1,206
Registered: ‎05-04-2012

Re: Setting up PLE400 and PLW400 as a wireless bridge

 

I see....hmmmmm....

Just a thought, have you power cycle both powerlines and the router? then trying to connect again. Like after resetting everything up.

 

 

tnine
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎08-23-2008

Re: Setting up PLE400 and PLW400 as a wireless bridge

Unfortunately yes, no dice.  Everything else works perfectly, so I'm not clear why this doesn't work.

ylime1984
Posts: 1,206
Registered: ‎05-04-2012

Re: Setting up PLE400 and PLW400 as a wireless bridge

 

What about assigning a static ip address and dns on the printer from the router then try to check connectivity.

Really a bit weird!