Reply
Linksys
FacebookSupport
Posts: 12,581
Registered: ‎01-26-2011

Roku Vs. PS3

The issue is with a Roku (wireless) device that drains the connection from our PS3 (wired connection)… I've set QoS for the PS3 to be high priority and the Roku for low, but it still seems to create lag when something streams.

peanuts
Posts: 3,117
Registered: ‎09-07-2006

Re: Roku Vs. PS3

As you are facing lags while connecting your PS3, you can try to reduce the MTU size on the router to 1400.

 

Please click on the below mentioned link to see how to change the MTU size.

 

http://www6.nohold.net/Cisco2/ukp.aspx?vw=1&docid=c018b947b8774e54bd57fad02e3efddd_17331.xml&pid=80&...

RogersMike
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎12-20-2011

Re: Roku Vs. PS3

Thanks for the suggestion peanuts. I set the MTU to 1400, but as soon as my wife starts to stream content on the Roku I start getting lag on the PS3. Should this be an issue if the PS3 is on a wired connection? I would of thought that the connection should take priority of any wireless one. Thanks for the help.
peanuts
Posts: 3,117
Registered: ‎09-07-2006

Re: Roku Vs. PS3

Let me know the model number of the router? Try to do the following steps:

 

# Open up the browser and on the address bar type 192.168.1.1 that will open up the Router setup page.

# Click on wireless Tab select Channel to 6, 9, and 11...

#Adjust the following advanced wireless settings:

~~ Lower the beacon interval from 100 to 75

~~ Lower the fragmentation threshold from 2346 to 2306

~~ Lower the RTS threshold from 2347 to 2304

 

Then check the wireless status..

 

RogersMike
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎12-20-2011

Re: Roku Vs. PS3

[ Edited ]

Thanks again peanuts. It's an E2500.

 

I tried going to those settings you suggested but couldn't find those options (pic below). Should I do those in addition to keeping the MTU at 1400?

 

Screen Shot 2011-12-22 at 1.32.13 PM.png

peanuts
Posts: 3,117
Registered: ‎09-07-2006

Re: Roku Vs. PS3

The router model that you have doesn't allow to make the changes I suggested in my last post. Could you please post the screen capture of the QoS page of your router?

 

Wired connection is always considered to be stronger than wireless. One more question, Is Roku connected to the 5GhZ (AbrahamLinksys5) network or 2.4Ghz (AbrahamLinksys) network?

RogersMike
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎12-20-2011

Re: Roku Vs. PS3

Here's the QoS settings that are available:

 

Screen Shot 2011-12-27 at 8.29.57 PM.png

 

Double checked which network the Roku was on and it doesn't seem to be picking up the 5GhZ.

peanuts
Posts: 3,117
Registered: ‎09-07-2006

Re: Roku Vs. PS3

Hi!

 

These settings seem to be incorrect. Make the following changes under the QoS section on your router.

 

1) For upstream bandwidth, choose the option 'auto' from the drop down menu instead of 'manual'.

2) Under 'category' section, choose the option, 'Mac address' from the drop down menu instead of 'applications'.

 

Once you make the changes, click, 'save settings' at the bottom of the page.

 

What you have done is, you have set the priority for 'mac adresses' however chosen, 'applications' in category.

 

Please reply if that helps or not?

 

RogersMike
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎12-20-2011

Re: Roku Vs. PS3

Thanks for the suggestion. Once I save the settings it defaults that field back to Applications.

peanuts
Posts: 3,117
Registered: ‎09-07-2006

Re: Roku Vs. PS3

Even though you have the latest firmware, I would suggest to reflash it. You can download the firmware from this link

 

To upgrade the firmware, please follow the instructions in this article