Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Do you mean 
Reply
StevenChiu
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎10-28-2008

How to SRW224P reset to default from hardware?

I had SRW224P.I set EAPOL from WEB UI.

But,when apply settings,I can't login SRW224P from GUI and Console port.

I want to reset SRX224P to default settings.

But,I don't know how to reset to default from hardware. 

How can I do?

Expert
Expert
Posts: 12,649
Registered: ‎07-16-2006

Re: How to SRW224P reset to default from hardware?

[ Edited ]
Reboot the switch. Interrupt the boot loaded through the console. You should have an option in the boot loader menu to reset the password or to remove the whole configuration.
Message Edited by gv on 10-29-2008 10:06 PM
Winner
Posts: 42
Registered: ‎10-15-2008

Re: How to SRW224P reset to default from hardware?

1.) Connect the Linksys serial cable that came with the switch between the switch serial port and a nearby computer serial port. For Windows, use Hyper Terminal or VanDyke CRT/SecureCRT. For Linux, use minicom. For other unix types, try cu/tip.

2.) The switch default serial port configuration is set to 38400 baud, 8 data bits, no parity, 1 stop bit, no flow control.

3.) Confirm that you have a valid serial connection by pressing enter a few times. You should be prompted with a login screen.

4.) If you have successfully established serial communication with the switch, reboot the switch by disconnecting and then reconnecting it's power cable.

5.) The switch will begin it's POST procedure as displayed in the serial terminal emulator. Be ready at the keyboard to press the Esc key.

6.) Watch for the following line to appear during the boot sequence. When you see it, immediately press the Esc key; "Autoboot in 2 seconds - press RETURN or Esc. to abort and enter prom." IMPORTANT: Do not hold down the Esc or Enter/Return key during the boot sequence. Only press the Esc key when prompted.

7.) If you successfully interrupted the boot sequence, you will be prompted with a Startup Menu. Option number 3 will be the "Password Recovery Procedure". Select this option.

8.) The terminal will display, "Current password will be ignored!". Press enter to continue with the boot sequence.

9.) The default account "admin/" will be enabled and you can log into the switch using this account. From here, you can set new accounts without having lost the switch configuration.

10.) After you have configured new accounts and documented the passwords, reboot the switch and log in normally to confirm that passwords have been recovered successfully.

11.) You are done. Disconnect and store the serial cable in a safe place for future use. Be sure to document a login username and password somewhere safe for future reference.

StevenChiu
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎10-28-2008

Re: How to SRW224P reset to default from hardware?

Thank you help! 

 

But,about "6.) Watch for the following line to appear during the boot sequence. When you see it, immediately press the Esc key;"

I can't get in.

What time I should push "Esc"? When the screen display something?

Expert
Expert
Posts: 12,649
Registered: ‎07-16-2006

Re: How to SRW224P reset to default from hardware?

When you see the message "Autoboot in 2 seconds - press RETURN or Esc. to abort and enter prom.".
StevenChiu
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎10-28-2008

Re: How to SRW224P reset to default from hardware?

I can't find "Autoboot in 2 seconds - press RETURN or Esc. to abort and enter prom.".

 

This is all booting message:

 

Image Loader 2.0.0.1
Loading Diagnostic Image File : SRW224P_Diag_V2.0.0.2.bix
Diagnostic 2.0.0.2


User Mode
--- Performing Power-On Self Tests (POST) ---
DUMMY Test 1.................PASS
UART LOOP BACK Test..........PASS
DRAM Test....................PASS
Timer Test...................PASS
RTC Initialization...........PASS
Done All Pass.    
------------------ DONE ---------------------
Loading Runtime Image File : SRW224P_Opcode.bix
Runtime 2.0.1.4

First available memory = 13519460(0xce4a64)
Available Memory Size = 18971648(0x1217c00)

I2C Initialization  ............ PASS

Board ID=12, 24FE POE Standalone.

Set Transition mode ...
Finish Set Transition mode ...
Enter Transition mode ...
Finish Transition mode ...
Enter Master mode ...
Load certificate files : Starting
Load certificate files : Finished

Finish Master mode ...

Performing startup provision ...
                                                   
................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................
CLI provision has been completed

CLI provision has been completed

Notify provision complete

All CSCs know provision complete

Please press ENTER to start session

Winner
Posts: 42
Registered: ‎10-15-2008

Re: How to SRW224P reset to default from hardware?

try to press esc after .......pass ......pass
ClouDs
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎10-05-2008

Re: How to SRW224P reset to default from hardware?

SRW224P switch's boot sequence key is Ctrl+U. Try it !!
Best Regards,

ClouD™
StevenChiu
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎10-28-2008

Re: How to SRW224P reset to default from hardware?

When SRW224P boot,I use "Ctrl+U",it show

[X]modem download   [D]elete File    [S]et Startup File

[C]hange Baudrate     [E]rase Flash   [Q]uit

 

Which do I choose? It can reset to default.

 

pt-1
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎01-08-2009

Re: How to SRW224P reset to default from hardware?

Hello,

 

I have upgraded my SRW224P to Firmware SRW224P_Opcode_V2.0.2.2.bix using XModem and now it fails to boot.

 

I can interupt it via CTRL&U and delete the startup-config and then assign the SRW224P_Opcode_V2.0.2.2.bix as the Startup File as a Runtime but after each reset or reboot it fails to boot again.

 

Message:

[code]<ERR> Diagnostic Loading Fail - Try Runtime
Loading Runtime Image File : SRW224P_Opcode_V2.0.2.2.bix
Runtime 2.0.2.2[/code]

 

And when I interrupt via CTRL + U

 

[code]File Name                         S/Up Type Size       Create Time
--------------------------------- ---- ---- ---------- -----------
Factory_Default_Config.cfg          0    5       2771  24:00:17
SRW224P_Opcode_V2.0.2.2.bix         1    2    1850680  00:11:55
startup-config                      1    5       2927  24:00:20
--------------------------------- ---- ---- ---------- ----------
[X]modem Download  [D]elete File  [S]et Startup File
[C]hange Baudrate  [E]rase Flash  [Q]uit
Select>[/code]

 

Any Hints anybody ?

 

THX

 

PT-1