Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Do you mean 
Reply
pedro1
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎05-03-2008

PAP2T dial plan???

k - i've peeked and poked, tried this and that... but still cant seem to get this dial plan stuff to work the way i'd like... call me noob... whatever... the original dial plan distributed with my PAP2T is: (to separate each 'case' i've inserted a 'newline' in front of each 'bar' character)

(*xx
|[3469]11
|0
|00
|[2-9]xxxxxx
|1xxx[2-9]xxxxxx
|xxxxxxxxxxxx.)

this works great... if you have a service provider who offers *11 services and accepts 10 or 7 digit dialing... but... I don't. so... just in case some on picks up my phone and decides to try 911 - i'd like the number to go through to the local emergency center, and of course it would be nice not to have to try to explain to everyone they need to use 11 digit calling on all the calls... i figure that is what a dial plan is all about...

i've worked what information i've been able to find and been able to come up with this dialplan that almost addresses my needs:

(*xx
|<311:17043367600S0>
|<411:18003733411S0>
|<911:17043363237S0>
|[1]xxx[2-9]xxxxxxS0
|<:1>xxx[2-9]xxxxxxS0
|<:1704>[2-9]xxxxxxS0)

the problem is now... if some one does enter the full 11 didgits the last digit of the dialed number is truncated and a 1 is prefixed to it...

not good...

I'm also trying to figure out how to specify a sip connection to another service for 'toll' free calls... if there are any ideas...

thanks for any help with this!
Stew
Posts: 32
Registered: ‎04-24-2008

Re: PAP2T dial plan???

[ Edited ]
You can't have 7-digit calls be sent immediately, and also have 10-digit dialing work, because after you have dialed 7 digits, the PAP has no way to know whether more digits are coming.  So, you have to choose either:
7-digit calls sent immediately, must dial 1 before an area code.
or
7-digit calls work, but the "short" delay must elapse before they are sent, either 10 or 11 digits can be used when dialing an area code.
 
For the former:
(*xx
|<311:17043367600S0>
|<411:18003733411S0>
|<911:17043363237S0>
|1[2-9]xx[2-9]xxxxxxS0
|<:1704>[2-9]xxxxxxS0)
 
For the latter:
(*xx
|<311:17043367600S0>
|<411:18003733411S0>
|<911:17043363237S0>
|1[2-9]xx[2-9]xxxxxxS0
|<:1>[2-9]xx[2-9]xxxxxxS0
|<:1704>[2-9]xxxxxx)
 
I'm not confident that I can do the alternate routing for toll-free without testing it, but if you post what you've tried and what goes wrong, perhaps I can spot the bug.
 
 


Message Edited by Stew on 05-03-2008 12:40 PM
pedro1
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎05-03-2008

Re: PAP2T dial plan???

originally, my sip-to-sip format was of the nature:

|<411:18003733411@fwd.pulver.com>

this produced nothing - nada-zip-zilch - dead air.

in working with my provider on the number truncation issue i was having earlier, i saw that the outgoing port was 5061, and the PAP2 doc indicated the default port was 5060... so i changed to:

|<411:18003733411@fwd.pulver.com:5061>

now i'm getting a fast busy signal...

elsewhere (DSLReports) i came across the dial plan to bypass per minute fees for toll free calls as:

|<:*>1800xxxxxxxS0 <:@fwd.pulver.com>
|<:*>1888xxxxxxxS0 <:@fwd.pulver.com>
|<:*>1877xxxxxxxS0 <:@fwd.pulver.com>
|<:*>1866xxxxxxxS0 <:@fwd.pulver.com>

but you need to dial the '1's... i figure a little creative thought might get around that, but before I get into that I'd like to see the sip-to-sip calling work first...
I thought I saw somewhere that the fwd.pulver.com was free... but, now i'm seeing reference to it being a for fee service... this may be why i'm now getting the fast busy signal...:-(
Stew
Posts: 32
Registered: ‎04-24-2008

Re: PAP2T dial plan???

This worked for me (on SPA-2102 running v5.2.3):
|1800xxxxxxxS0<:@proxy01.sipphone.com>
 
If you need to authenticate, the manual says this will work -- I haven't tried:

*1xxxxxxxxxx<:@fwdnat.pulver.com:5082;uid=jsmith;pwd=xyz>

imesbah
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎02-02-2009

Re: PAP2T dial plan???

Hey guys, in the US here, and I'm using this dial plan. anyone see any issues:

 

(*xx|[3-9]11S0|011[2-9]x.|[2-9]xx[2-9]xxxxxxS0|1[2-9]xx[2-9]xxxxxxS0|[2-9]xxxxxx)

 

*xx - feature codes
[3-9]11S0 - 411/911, etc.
011[2-9]x. - international
[2-9]xx[2-9]xxxxxxS0 - local outside current area code
1[2-9]xx[2-9]xxxxxxS0 - long distance
[2-9]xxxxxx - local without area code

 

Please let me know if anyone thinks I can improve on this. Need to be able to dial local #s, without area code, local area codes without a '1', and long distance and toll free numbers with a 1, and international.