Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Do you mean 
Reply
Herman Bos
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎09-23-2008

PCM1000 XP DOT1Q & Vlan interfaces.

Hi I got my hands on A PCM1000 interface,
 
Thia card is beiing advertised to support dot1q and vlans.
 
This is not true!?!?
 
In the interface properties i was able to find the option to enable the dot1q support.
 
But nowhere I was able to find the options to define the dot1q vlans for this interface card!
 
I am used to work with the pro100 & pro1000 Intel interfaces.
 
In the drivers one is able to define multiple vlans, and use these vlans.
 
Comparable features one would expect when this is advertised (dot1q and vlans)
 
I was disappointed to find this PCM1000 vard did not support this!
 
Tech support at linksys also told me to search in these groups ( so much for a tech support dept. asking them a difficult question and get pointed into the woods - whe do not support the vlans and/or dot1q was their answer! :-( )
 
If someone has an answer to the above question.
Please respond :-)
 
Herman...
-------------------------------------------
- We are network admins, to us -
- data is just protocol overhead -
-------------------------------------------
In other words: I am not to be held
responsible for any data people
transport over the networks i build.
--------------------------------------------
Herman Bos
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎09-23-2008

Re: PCM1000 XP DOT1Q & Vlan interfaces.

[ Edited ]
I think it is clear, Linksys does not want to support users witch questions on dot1q support on this network card.
Get machines with the Intel pro hardware, these do support dot1q vlans, and teaming... Linksys... At this moment I think these inerfaces simply do not support these features :smileymad:.










(Edited post for guideline compliance. Thanks!)

Message Edited by JOHNDOE_06 on 09-25-2008 07:50 AM
-------------------------------------------
- We are network admins, to us -
- data is just protocol overhead -
-------------------------------------------
In other words: I am not to be held
responsible for any data people
transport over the networks i build.
--------------------------------------------
BloodPlus
Posts: 29
Registered: ‎08-26-2008

Re: PCM1000 XP DOT1Q & Vlan interfaces.

Glad to run into this. Been comparing Linksys Gigabit adapters with 802.1q support. Unfortunately the PCM1000 doesnt have a utility where you can add VLANs unlike in their latest versions of EG1032 and EG1064.
pcm1000vlan
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎02-07-2009

Re: PCM1000 XP DOT1Q & Vlan interfaces.

Wow what a process to register for these forums....

 

Anyway thought I would revive an old thread from another customer that purchased the PCM1000 adapter and was disappointed about the lack of VLAN support and also read about the lack of knowledge from Linksys technical support about his issue.  I was determinted to get VLAN support for an adapter I paid good money for, and after some work I did!

 

802.1q VLAN tagging is actually in the driver supplied by Linksys, but the drivers have all support for 802.1q commented out/missing in the .inf file!

 

Extract the Linksys supplied drivers to a directory and go to the WINXP folder.  In there you will find a file called NETRTOEM.inf  Replace it with the new .inf file on the download link below. (I tried to post the code of the revised driver but it exceeds the 20,000 character limit of this forum). Reinstall the drivers (I had to remove all old drivers from my \WINDOWS folder for this to work).  After the modded driver is installed you can open device manager and go to the 'Advanced' tab of the adapter and you can enable dot1q and define a vlan to tag.

 

I know there is other adapters that can do this without jumping through hoops, but I needed the adapter to work right away to gain access to one of my network devices.

 

http://rapidshare.com/files/195258523/NETRTOEM.INF.html 

 

**THIS FILE IS HOSTED ON A RAPIDSHARE ACCOUNT THAT ONLY ALLOWS 10 DOWNLOADS.  IF ANYONE CAN MIRROR THE FILE IT WOULD BE GREAT. OR EVEN BETTER IF ANYONE FROM LINKSYS ACTUALLY READS THIS FORUM, FIX YOUR DRIVER!!!!** 

John123
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎03-30-2009

Re: PCM1000 XP DOT1Q & Vlan interfaces.

I've just purchased some pcm1000 adapters, and as with other posters I was disappointed to find some VLAN features were missing - I hoped to be able to add a VLAN ID on outgoing streams.

Your post  has given me hope, that this option can be added in software.

However, somewhere in the process you described, I must be doing something wrong.

Here's what I did:

1. I downloaded the modded version of netrtoem.inf

2. I found the driver rtlnicxp.sys in C:\WINDOWS\system32\drivers

3. I removed this (copying it to a separate folder)

4. I found netrtoem.inf in c:\program files\gigabit notebook adapter

5. I replaced this version of the file with the downloaded (modded) version

6. I restored the driver rtlnicxp.sys to the \drivers folder

7. I restarted the PC

I expected to see Add VLAN ID (or something similar) in the list.

However, the list of properties for the adapter remains the same as before.

Not sure where things have gone wrong...

Any help on getting the process right, much appreciated.

pcm1000vlan
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎02-07-2009

Re: PCM1000 XP DOT1Q & Vlan interfaces.

Using the device manager, on the driver tab of the device use the 'update driver' button and use the full modded driver I used.  Download is below for the full driver.

 

http://rapidshare.com/files/224115647/PCM1000.zip.html

nicksandoval
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎09-03-2009

Re: PCM1000 XP DOT1Q & Vlan interfaces.

Does anyone have access to this driver?

 

I tried using the rapidshare link but it has already exceeded the 10 download limit.

 

Thanks in advance.

pcm1000vlan
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎02-07-2009

Re: PCM1000 XP DOT1Q & Vlan interfaces.

Re-uploaded.  I guess linksys still isnt interested in fixing the driver.

 

http://rapidshare.com/files/277468242/NETRTOEM.zip.html

 

Still limited to 10 downloads

airdwarf
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎10-12-2010

Re: PCM1000 XP DOT1Q & Vlan interfaces.

Would you re-upload the driver, please?