Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Do you mean 
MongoDV8

BEFSR41 and DSL connection

[ Edited ]
Hi. I am new to routers but I build my own computers so I'm a fast learner.
I have a BEFSR41  wired router connected to a DSL modem. ( Speed Stream 5100).
When I run through the set up for the router my internet works fine. When I power down the modem for the night then turn it back on in the morning, the internet will not work until I rerun setup again.

I have everything set to obtain IP automatic etc.

I notice when I do power down the modem that my IP changes. I have looked at alot of support articles for both my provider and this router and can't find anything to adress this.

Is there a way to set this up without having to leave the modem on all the time ?

I have 2 computers hooked to the router.

Version 4.1

Message Edited by MongoDV8 on 03-21-2008 09:04 AM
toomanydonuts

Re: BEFSR41 and DSL connection

I doubt that you really need to run setup again to get your system working.  This is more likely a communication problem between modem and router, or router and computer.

Are you on an AT&T  PPPoE system?   Is your PPPoE user name and password stored in the 5100 modem?

While some networks can simply be switched on and they work, other systems are very sensitive to the boot order of the devices.   For example, some AT&T modems take as much as 5 minutes to boot up and connect to the AT&T network.  If this is your situation, then the usual solution would be to boot up the modem, wait 5 minutes, then boot up the BEFSR41 (wait 1-2 minutes for this), then boot up your computer.

A)  Most system prefer to be booted up in the same order that data from the Internet would travel in - that is, modem first, then router, then computer.  Allow each device to fully boot before starting up next device.