Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Do you mean 
SCB 53

AE2500 unable to connect to Network

Hi all,

I am not new to computers, but I am new to wireless networking. I recently moved to a building that does not have wired Internet access. Upon the recommendation I purchased a Linksys AEE 2500 USB wireless adapter. I am unable to install the software which means, of course, I am unable to access any of the settings.

The setup initializes, shows me the wireless network available (it has a locked padlock symbol next to a), and prompts me for the encryption key. It accepts the key and it's at this point the setup stalls. It shows the "attempting to connect to network" screen then, after whatever interval the software is set for before it times out, I get a notification that setup was unable to access the network. The generic Windows drivers access the network just fine although I only get two bars and a fair connection.

I do have Internet connection through the windows drivers but it is slow and watching streaming video from Netflix is next to impossible.

Long story short, I would like to get the software for this adapter installed. It may not make any difference and there's a good chance that I might have to go to a different adapter to which I could connect a signal booster. But I would at least like to try making this with serviceable first.

I'm open to any and all suggestions and ideas. Thanks a lot in advance. -- SCB 53  :smileyhappy:

helm

Re: AE2500 unable to connect to Network

So in that case you can download the latest drivers from the Cisco/Linksys website or from the link – homesupport.cisco.com try to install the adapter manually… Follow the steps for the manual installation…

# Click on Start --> Run and in the run box type "devmgmt.msc" and click Ok...

# Device manager window will appear and in that check for the Linksys adapter.. Right-click on the name of the Adapter that you want to install and click Update Driver Software…