Reply
0Jamie0
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎06-17-2010

192.168.1.1 COnnection has Timed Out

Hi,

 

 

I have a few problems... I have a linksys WRT54G and when i type "192.168.1.1" it says the connection has timed out... Can somone please help me?

mmician
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎06-17-2010

Re: 192.168.1.1 COnnection has Timed Out

you can just try to reboot your network first, unplug your router for 30 secs and plug it back again, so that you're computer will get a valid IP address and you will be able to access 192.168.1.1, or you can check if that is really your default gateway first.

0Jamie0
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎06-17-2010

Re: 192.168.1.1 COnnection has Timed Out

[ Edited ]

I have unplugged everything 30 seconds then replugged it in, turned it off, and it's still an invalid address (Connection is still timing out)

mmician
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎06-17-2010

Re: 192.168.1.1 COnnection has Timed Out

what is your operating system?

0Jamie0
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎06-17-2010

Re: 192.168.1.1 COnnection has Timed Out

WIndows XP

mmician
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎06-17-2010

Re: 192.168.1.1 COnnection has Timed Out

do you know what is your default gateway is? maybe it is not 192.168.1.1

0Jamie0
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎06-17-2010

Re: 192.168.1.1 COnnection has Timed Out

For some reason, no it's not that. My deault gateway is 198.105.197.103 (typed ipconfig on cmd.) How do I change my linksys IP back to normal? I have tried to reset the router.

dudztgp
Posts: 1,496
Registered: ‎06-27-2010

Re: 192.168.1.1 COnnection has Timed Out

That's a weird gateway. Anyway, type that gateway on your browser. Let's see if you can access the setup page of your router.
0Jamie0
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎06-17-2010

Re: 192.168.1.1 COnnection has Timed Out

I have typed

198.105.197.103

 In my web browser, and it says

"This site is running TeamViewer."

dudztgp
Posts: 1,496
Registered: ‎06-27-2010

Re: 192.168.1.1 COnnection has Timed Out

According to my research, your IP 198.105.197.103 is your ISP's gateway. Is your ISP Disney Online? Anyway, your router is probably setup as LAN-LAN Connection. You probably need to set it up Internet-LAN connection.

Let's try this procedure. Unhook the router from your modem. Plug your computer directly to the router. Now check the IP address and post it here if you will.