Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Do you mean 
Reply
jackal33
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎04-05-2013

Can't access cable modem status page with EA6500

I cannot access my Motorola SB6141 cable modem status page at 192.168.100.1 thru the EA6500 router. I can bypass the router and can connect to the status page with no problem. Is there a setting to change or can I possibly do port forwarding to access it?

SuspendedFate
Posts: 80
Registered: ‎11-02-2012

Re: Can't access cable modem status page with EA6500

I can access my Cisco DPQ3212C modem's status page (192.168.100.1 like yours) just fine through my EA6500.

What is your EA6500's IP set to? (Located at Connectivity -> Local Network in the EA6500's settings.)

fresh19
Posts: 314
Registered: ‎12-31-2012

Re: Can't access cable modem status page with EA6500


jackal33 wrote:

I cannot access my Motorola SB6141 cable modem status page at 192.168.100.1 thru the EA6500 router. I can bypass the router and can connect to the status page with no problem. Is there a setting to change or can I possibly do port forwarding to access it?


 

Power cycle the router and the modem by turning them on/off then try it again. This is to synchronize the settings. You may try also another internet browser (IE, Firefox, Google Chrome).

Expert
jlbjlb
Posts: 2,736
Registered: ‎07-07-2012

Re: Can't access cable modem status page with EA6500

Expert
jlbjlb
Posts: 2,736
Registered: ‎07-07-2012
jackal33
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎04-05-2013

Re: Can't access cable modem status page with EA6500

What's strange is my current modem replaced a Motorola SB5101 with the same status page address (192.168.100.1) and I could access it just fine through the EA6500. Start IP address under Connectivity is 192.168.1.100 with max users 50. Router IP is 192.168.1.1. I have turned off firewalls, recycled modem and router, swapped browsers all to no avail.

SuspendedFate
Posts: 80
Registered: ‎11-02-2012

Re: Can't access cable modem status page with EA6500

[ Edited ]

Hm, that is quite odd to me that it isn't working for the new modem with those IPs, additionally so since it worked for your old modem. Since the IP is not on the same subnet as the EA6500 (as in, they aren't both using a variation of 192.168.100.x), it should simply pass the request "down" to the modem and go from there, since it's the status pages address it should then send that back as it did with the old modem.

The only thing I can think of that may solve the problem is to setup a static route on the EA6500.

To do this, go to "Connectivity" and then the "Advanced Routing" tab.

Once there, click "Add static route" and enter the following information in this order:

Interface: Internet

Route Name: Motorola SB6141 (Or anything you'd like to put)

Destination IP address: 192.168.100.1

Subnet mask: 255.255.255.0

Gateway: 192.168.100.1

 

Click save and then apply and try to access the modem, you may want to wait a minute or so for the settings to fully take effect. Additionally a reboot of the computer your on and/or the router may also help, not entirely sure, I don't believe you need to but it certainly wouldn't hurt to try if it doesn't work without doing so.

 

On a side note, I have you change the interface to "Internet" first so that the page doesn't complain the gateway is invalid when you enter it as it isn't a part of the LAN/Wireless which is the default interface; otherwise, you can enter them in any order.

jackal33
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎04-05-2013

Re: Can't access cable modem status page with EA6500

Thanks SuspendedFate but no dice. I set up the static route, rebooted, and still the same result. I'm at a loss. There's some conflict between the SB6141 and the router that's not obvious to me. Maybe the next update will clear it up.

SuspendedFate
Posts: 80
Registered: ‎11-02-2012

Re: Can't access cable modem status page with EA6500

You can run a traceroute to maybe see what is happening to the request to access 192.168.100.1

You can do this on the router by going to Troubleshooting and then the Diagnostics tab. There you will find the Traceroute option, enter 192.168.100.1 and click "Start to Traceroute." It'll then "pop-in"(pop-up inside the window, lol) a window with the progress of the Traceroute.

You may also want to do this from a Windows computer by opening a command prompt and typing in "tracert 192.168.100.1" and pressing enter. It'll then proceed to output the progress as it does it as well.

 

This will at least tell us if the request is getting past the EA6500, or if it's being stopped before that.

jackal33
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎04-05-2013

Re: Can't access cable modem status page with EA6500

It's not getting past the router. Tracert from Windows returns 192.168.1.1 and times out. Traceroute from router returns nothing but * * *.