Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Do you mean 
Reply
Shiveron
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎02-25-2011

Can't connect to 192.168.1.1 or Cisco Connect

I just bought the e1000 router today and I'm already having trouble. I got it setup the first time and all my computers set up with it and it works fine for internet. Everything is snappy and responsive and I don't have any of the problems I did with my old belkin. However, I am unable to connect to the router using cisco connect or the web interface. I need to forward ports, configure wireless security, etc etc. All I did was disable the guest account through cisco connect, and then when the software just sat there doing nothing with the spinning circle in the middle, I opened task manager and killed the process to get it to go away. Now I can't connect using either cisco connect or the web interface. I really don't want to have to hard reset as there are several people using the internet right now and I don't want to have to kick them all off then go around setting everyone up to connect with it again.

Expert
sabretooth
Posts: 5,329
Registered: ‎11-11-2008

Re: Can't connect to 192.168.1.1 or Cisco Connect

[ Edited ]

You must hard reset the router by pressing the reset button.  .  Remove the Cisco Connect software from your computer.  Connect via 192.168.1.1 username blank, password 'admin'.  Reconfigure the router from scratch.

rizedr
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎06-24-2012

Re: Can't connect to 192.168.1.1 or Cisco Connect

[ Edited ]

I quess when you try to connect to your router via a web browser (http://192.168.1.1) it displays a page like:

Untitled.png

 

Well, that appears cause Cisco has just launched the Cisco Connect Cloud. All you have to do to get to your normal interface like you had it before, is just to Create an account, and then Associate your router with it (it will require you a password, and it's the router password). And that's all.

 

Mod Note (Edited due to non-compliance of forum guidelines.)

jsrobison
Posts: 74
Registered: ‎05-06-2010

Re: Can't connect to 192.168.1.1 or Cisco Connect

See the last sticky at the top of this forum.

 

VALETLINKSYS
Posts: 438
Registered: ‎10-16-2011

Re: Can't connect to 192.168.1.1 or Cisco Connect


rizedr wrote:

I have the same issue with an ea4500. I can't connect to my router via web browser (http://192.168.1.1) any more.

When I try to do, it opens a page called Cisco Connect Cloud (check the picture at the bottom), which is a page that requires me to connect to Cisco Cloud. I understand this comes from the latest firmware update, cause the cloud control wasn't opened until a few days ago. But **bleep** it is stupid they did it this way. Now I can't no longer configure my router from web browser.

 

Also resetting your router to factory settings is the most stupid solution I've ever heard (no offence). For example I have my router configured to connect via mac filtering. And do all the setting again is just stupid.

 

Nevertheless, once you insert the disk, it will auto-update firmware.

 

Get my point?

 

Untitled.png



Hi you can use the older firmware of the router if you want . Just create an account first so that you can log in to the user interface of the router and rollback the firmware .





I believe that I can make it :smileyhappy:
rizedr
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎06-24-2012

Re: Can't connect to 192.168.1.1 or Cisco Connect

I've editted my upper post.

Expert
sabretooth
Posts: 5,329
Registered: ‎11-11-2008

Re: Can't connect to 192.168.1.1 or Cisco Connect

[ Edited ]

You realize this thread is over 1 year old... and please don't post if you do not know what you are tallking about here.  The was no cloud a year ago.

Expert
zee29
Posts: 1,329
Registered: ‎04-22-2012

Re: Can't connect to 192.168.1.1 or Cisco Connect

Please check the links below where you can read more about cisco connect cloud. You may also open another thread or join other forum posts/threads that can provide you the answers that you are looking for.

 

Helpful links about Cisco Connect Cloud
http://homecommunity.cisco.com/t5/Wireless-Routers/Helpful-links-about-Cisco-Connect-Cloud/td-p/5365...


Smart Wi-Fi Routers: How to downgrade your firmware back to standard web-based setup page version

http://homecommunity.cisco.com/t5/Wireless-Routers/Smart-Wi-Fi-Routers-How-to-downgrade-your-firmwar...

 

Also check this link for more interaction:

http://homecommunity.cisco.com/t5/Wireless-Routers/Smart-Wi-Fi-Routers-How-to-downgrade-your-firmwar...