Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Do you mean 
Reply
Shade117
Posts: 12
Registered: ‎02-04-2007

Cannot host games in Starcraft/Starcraft Brood War

[ Edited ]
Hi..I am having problems hosting games in starcraft on my computer whenever someone tries to join they get the message the latency is too high.. On my old computer that ran on DSL(direct modem connection) I could host games no problem but with my new computer that runs on Cable 768k+ cant run it at all..I am using the WRT54G v.3 router I have tried forwarding ports and triggering them..though I'm not sure I did the triggering correctly...I have even used DMZ to test..and still no good results. I have a static IP Address for the computer I'm attempting to host on the other one..is not. I am hoping someone knows how to fix this because I've dealed with this for far too long..


Message Edited by Shade117 on 07-25-2007 05:23 PM
Posts: 283
Registered: ‎10-12-2006

Re: Cannot host games in Starcraft/Starcraft Brood War

What port number have you forwarded? was it 3074? In hosting brood war games I think 3074 is the port to forward. Don't use trigger and dmz.
Shade117
Posts: 12
Registered: ‎02-04-2007

Re: Cannot host games in Starcraft/Starcraft Brood War

[ Edited ]
Hmm 3074 never heard of that one mentioned but I'll try it! by the way I have 6112 forwarded.


Message Edited by Shade117 on 07-25-2007 07:19 PM
Posts: 283
Registered: ‎10-12-2006

Re: Cannot host games in Starcraft/Starcraft Brood War

Try upgrading the firmware of the router is it's not working.
 
Do same steps again. I think you are on the right track. It should work.
Shade117
Posts: 12
Registered: ‎02-04-2007

Re: Cannot host games in Starcraft/Starcraft Brood War

the current firmware version I have is the latest.
Posts: 283
Registered: ‎10-12-2006

Re: Cannot host games in Starcraft/Starcraft Brood War

OK.
On the port forward range tab, you typed in the application name and this should be unique. typed in 6112 start to end port, protocol is both and IP address is the IP address of your computer that will be hosting the game. Have you done all that?
Shade117
Posts: 12
Registered: ‎02-04-2007

Re: Cannot host games in Starcraft/Starcraft Brood War

Yeah I did all of that and nothing changed..
Posts: 283
Registered: ‎10-12-2006

Re: Cannot host games in Starcraft/Starcraft Brood War

oh...
 
I wonder what else entries could be on your router..
 
can we remotely access it?
Shade117
Posts: 12
Registered: ‎02-04-2007

Re: Cannot host games in Starcraft/Starcraft Brood War

Yes, if needed.