Reply
jaymay
Posts: 1,830
Registered: ‎04-22-2012

Re: Curious ping times - EA6500 vs WUMC710

I did some research and isn't it that MultiPing is used to  check if a specific Server, Domain or Network device is reachable or not? So it is different when you want to measure the network performance on this router. It can really happen that “ping- response” goes down if there are some other network activities as  ICMP packets have by default a lower priority than normal traffic (data- traffic). And for me, a ping difference between 1 and 5/ 6 ms in an network is quite normal.

saeba79
Posts: 21
Registered: ‎10-16-2012

Re: Curious ping times - EA6500 vs WUMC710


jaymay wrote:

I did some research and isn't it that MultiPing is used to  check if a specific Server, Domain or Network device is reachable or not? So it is different when you want to measure the network performance on this router. It can really happen that “ping- response” goes down if there are some other network activities as  ICMP packets have by default a lower priority than normal traffic (data- traffic). And for me, a ping difference between 1 and 5/ 6 ms in an network is quite normal.


Let me restate the issue again....

 

I've used MultiPing to monitor my home network and its connection to the internet for years. And there was a very consistent pattern of average ping times to various nodes in the network. This is how I could spot network issues. I use a 5 second ping interval and graph ping times across 48 hours.

 

When I had a Linksys WRT310N at the center of the network, pings from my main desktop PC to the WRT310N averaged 0ms. And yes, there was some variation when network load was high, but it was minimal.

 

Now, I've swapped out the WRT310N and dropped in the EA6500 and average ping times to it are 4ms. That's a significant change for no apparent reason. And if you read though this thread, I've tried turning off wireless, disconnecting the WAN connection, etc..... all with no impact. So it is apparently something in the EA6500 that isn't handling pings as efficiently as older Linksys routers.

 

Additionally, the ping response from the WUMC710 that's a wireless-AC link away from the PC (PC --- EA6500 - - - WUMC710) averages 1ms. Very odd that a ping that goes through the EA6500 and then wireless to another node has significantly better response that one directly to the EA6500.

 

---
Linksys EA6500 (1.1.28.146072)
Linksys WUMC710 (1.0.00)
saeba79
Posts: 21
Registered: ‎10-16-2012

Re: Curious ping times - EA6500 vs WUMC710

[ Edited ]

Here's what MultiPing shows:

 

network.png

---
Linksys EA6500 (1.1.28.146072)
Linksys WUMC710 (1.0.00)
ylime1984
Posts: 1,206
Registered: ‎05-04-2012

Re: Curious ping times - EA6500 vs WUMC710

[ Edited ]

 


saeba79 wrote:

jaymay wrote:

I did some research and isn't it that MultiPing is used to  check if a specific Server, Domain or Network device is reachable or not? So it is different when you want to measure the network performance on this router. It can really happen that “ping- response” goes down if there are some other network activities as  ICMP packets have by default a lower priority than normal traffic (data- traffic). And for me, a ping difference between 1 and 5/ 6 ms in an network is quite normal.


Let me restate the issue again....

 

I've used MultiPing to monitor my home network and its connection to the internet for years. And there was a very consistent pattern of average ping times to various nodes in the network. This is how I could spot network issues. I use a 5 second ping interval and graph ping times across 48 hours.

 

When I had a Linksys WRT310N at the center of the network, pings from my main desktop PC to the WRT310N averaged 0ms. And yes, there was some variation when network load was high, but it was minimal.

 

Now, I've swapped out the WRT310N and dropped in the EA6500 and average ping times to it are 4ms. That's a significant change for no apparent reason. And if you read though this thread, I've tried turning off wireless, disconnecting the WAN connection, etc..... all with no impact. So it is apparently something in the EA6500 that isn't handling pings as efficiently as older Linksys routers.

 

Additionally, the ping response from the WUMC710 that's a wireless-AC link away from the PC (PC --- EA6500 - - - WUMC710) averages 1ms. Very odd that a ping that goes through the EA6500 and then wireless to another node has significantly better response that one directly to the EA6500.

 


 

Got a point there though I agreed that the 1-5ms difference is really just normal in a network but I guess what's weird with your set up is that the fact that the wireless thru the WUMC710 is a bit faster and efficient compared to the once connected directly to the EA6500 router. Try to lower down the mtu settings on the router,http://www6.nohold.net/Cisco2/ukp.aspx?vw=1&docid=fbf8e8564632422eaa8ea80bf9dcba64_386.xml&pid=80&re...

ylime1984
Posts: 1,206
Registered: ‎05-04-2012

Re: Curious ping times - EA6500 vs WUMC710

Try to use another ping test program like the pingtest.net site.

DahBrain
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎12-14-2012

Re: Curious ping times - EA6500 vs WUMC710

Heya,

 

Same problem here with the curious ping time.

Just have the router from today and have pings between 1 and 10.

when i connect my other N160 or my E2000 router its stable at <1

jaymay
Posts: 1,830
Registered: ‎04-22-2012

Re: Curious ping times - EA6500 vs WUMC710


DahBrain wrote:

Heya,

 

Same problem here with the curious ping time.

Just have the router from today and have pings between 1 and 10.

when i connect my other N160 or my E2000 router its stable at <1


Aside from the EA6500 router, do you also have WUMC710 or another network bridge? Make sure that the firmware is upgraded to the latest which is Ver.1.1.28.146072.

DahBrain
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎12-14-2012

Re: Curious ping times - EA6500 vs WUMC710

nope .. only cablemodem and thats it 

ScarletJamie
Posts: 1,534
Registered: ‎04-22-2012

Re: Curious ping times - EA6500 vs WUMC710


DahBrain wrote:

nope .. only cablemodem and thats it 


 

As mentioned by jaymay, make sure to update the router, reset and reconfigure.

 

DahBrain
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎12-14-2012

Re: Curious ping times - EA6500 vs WUMC710

[ Edited ]

when i unboxed the router and run the cd he updated himself to Ver.1.1.28.146072.

I will reset him and let it know if there is a difference.

 

EDIT:

After the reset from the router still the same :

Pingen naar 192.168.1.1 met 32 bytes aan gegevens:
Antwoord van 192.168.1.1: bytes=32 tijd=1 ms TTL=64
Antwoord van 192.168.1.1: bytes=32 tijd=1 ms TTL=64
Antwoord van 192.168.1.1: bytes=32 tijd=1 ms TTL=64
Antwoord van 192.168.1.1: bytes=32 tijd=3 ms TTL=64
Antwoord van 192.168.1.1: bytes=32 tijd=5 ms TTL=64
Antwoord van 192.168.1.1: bytes=32 tijd=4 ms TTL=64
Antwoord van 192.168.1.1: bytes=32 tijd=3 ms TTL=64
Antwoord van 192.168.1.1: bytes=32 tijd<1 ms TTL=64
Antwoord van 192.168.1.1: bytes=32 tijd=1 ms TTL=64
Antwoord van 192.168.1.1: bytes=32 tijd=1 ms TTL=64
Antwoord van 192.168.1.1: bytes=32 tijd<1 ms TTL=64
Antwoord van 192.168.1.1: bytes=32 tijd=10 ms TTL=64
Antwoord van 192.168.1.1: bytes=32 tijd=10 ms TTL=64
Antwoord van 192.168.1.1: bytes=32 tijd=10 ms TTL=64
Antwoord van 192.168.1.1: bytes=32 tijd=6 ms TTL=64
Antwoord van 192.168.1.1: bytes=32 tijd=9 ms TTL=64
Antwoord van 192.168.1.1: bytes=32 tijd=9 ms TTL=64
Antwoord van 192.168.1.1: bytes=32 tijd=2 ms TTL=64
Antwoord van 192.168.1.1: bytes=32 tijd=9 ms TTL=64
Antwoord van 192.168.1.1: bytes=32 tijd=9 ms TTL=64
Antwoord van 192.168.1.1: bytes=32 tijd=9 ms TTL=64
Antwoord van 192.168.1.1: bytes=32 tijd=9 ms TTL=64
Antwoord van 192.168.1.1: bytes=32 tijd=9 ms TTL=64
Antwoord van 192.168.1.1: bytes=32 tijd=3 ms TTL=64
Antwoord van 192.168.1.1: bytes=32 tijd=9 ms TTL=64
Antwoord van 192.168.1.1: bytes=32 tijd=9 ms TTL=64
Antwoord van 192.168.1.1: bytes=32 tijd=9 ms TTL=64
Antwoord van 192.168.1.1: bytes=32 tijd=1 ms TTL=64
Antwoord van 192.168.1.1: bytes=32 tijd<1 ms TTL=64
Antwoord van 192.168.1.1: bytes=32 tijd=7 ms TTL=64
Antwoord van 192.168.1.1: bytes=32 tijd=7 ms TTL=64
Antwoord van 192.168.1.1: bytes=32 tijd=1 ms TTL=64
Antwoord van 192.168.1.1: bytes=32 tijd=5 ms TTL=64
Antwoord van 192.168.1.1: bytes=32 tijd=5 ms TTL=64
Antwoord van 192.168.1.1: bytes=32 tijd=4 ms TTL=64
Antwoord van 192.168.1.1: bytes=32 tijd=3 ms TTL=64
Antwoord van 192.168.1.1: bytes=32 tijd=1 ms TTL=64
Antwoord van 192.168.1.1: bytes=32 tijd=2 ms TTL=64
Antwoord van 192.168.1.1: bytes=32 tijd=1 ms TTL=64