Reply
bmwmick
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎05-04-2007

DHCP Clients Table

I have a WRT300N router and this morning I was checking the clients table.  I found an unknown MAC (00:0F:66:11:21:2F) with a name of Stephen in the LAN section NOT the wireless section.  I added this MAC (which is a Linksys product according the the search I did) to the 'restrict access' table for both wireless and internet. 
 
Later, I was checking the DHCP Clients table again and I showed TWO LAN connections.  I have my desktop wired to the router and my notebook is connected via wireless N.  No matter how many times I refreshed the screen, they both showed up as LAN. 
 
At first I was worried that someone had hacked my desktop because the unknown MAC was a LAN connection but it appears there are problems with the current firmware (1.03.6) on this WRT300N Ver 1.0 router. 
 
Anyone else notice that the DHCP Clients table shows the connection as LAN when it is Wireless? 
 
Before you ask, no I do NOT have WPA security turned on since we live a good distance from any neighbors.  About the only thing they could access is my internet connection since I keep the desktop powered off most of the time. 
 
Thanks,
Mick
Ikester
Posts: 1,290
Registered: ‎10-02-2006

Re: DHCP Clients Table

The reason there is a unknown MAC is because someone DID access your wireless network because it is open.  To prevent anyone from accessing your network connection you must set up your wireless security.  WPA is good but WPA2 is the best and should be set up to prevent someone accessing your internet.  If someone is connected and has been doing illegal things on the internet guess who the cops come looking for?   Yep you guessed it, the person that pays for that internet connection. 
 
 
Here is a link to show you how to set up WPA security.  Click  HERE
Richard Aichner (Ikester)
bmwmick
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎05-04-2007

Re: DHCP Clients Table

I know how to set up WPA, the question is why are wireless connections showing up as LAN connections. If that is the case.
 
Mick
Ikester
Posts: 1,290
Registered: ‎10-02-2006

Re: DHCP Clients Table

The DHCP Client Table is in the router and if you access the wireless connection (the router) it will assign you a IP from the DHCP. There for they will be listed in the DHCP client table.  If it is showing up on your LAN that may be due to your network and there PC set to the same default work group like MSHOME.
Richard Aichner (Ikester)
bmwmick
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎05-04-2007

Re: DHCP Clients Table

I guess that IS a possibility but I just displayed it (DHCP Clients Table) again and it shows my notebook as Wireless and my Desktop as LAN.  This leads me to believe that the table display is totally random or there is a bug in the 1.03.6 firmware.
 
Thanks,
Mick
nilesh
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎07-10-2008

Re: DHCP Clients Table

I am experiencing the same thing... I have the WRT150N with Firmware: v1.01.9 I could implement WPA but I don't want to, I'm fine with my neighbors accessing the internet through my router. The signal doesn't go very far and I have enough bandwidth for my whole apartment building to surf the web and check email. I have enough trouble staying connected to the thing being in the same room as the router, much less through several thick walls. Occasionally I do like to check to see who and how many clients are connected but the DHCP table inaccurately shows that most of them are connected via LAN when only my desktop machine is hard wired to the router.
richard804
Posts: 1,272
Registered: ‎02-02-2008

Re: DHCP Clients Table

Tell that to the cops when they tell you that you visited some kiddie porn sites.
Greetings from Northern Ontario, Canada
Clan Prime
Posts: 30
Registered: ‎04-27-2008

Re: DHCP Clients Table

its a REALLY bad idea to leave the wireless open...as the above post suggests. And it could get worse.
 
Back to the DHCP client table. I dont think any of the Linksys router EVERdisplaying correctly the LAN, Wireless clients...I always seem to be missing clients, or have a legacy client. The refresh button is totally useless.
 
Anyway, i use the LELA  and it works like a charm. I recommend it for near real-time true status of your home network.
nilesh
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎07-10-2008

Re: DHCP Clients Table

well i refuse to believe that big brother is going to kick in my door because i didn't put a password on my router. i just don't think it would hold up in court, it's the default configuration of the thing. there have been several unsolved murders in my neighborhood and i would hope they would focus on those instead. anyway my reasons for not implementing wpa are my own, it is a risk. i do at least change the password for the web admin panel. i mostly wanted to chime in that i have the same problem as the guy who started this thread and was looking for a solution. i suppose putting my whole network on lock down would be one solution, though not the one i was really looking for, my clients table would still be inaccurate. i would like to try LELA but it does not run on my os. it seems that the linksys firmware is not that great and they should fix it. i have heard of people installing third party firmware on their routers, anyone tried this?
CrazyLand1
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎04-07-2008

Re: DHCP Clients Table

I have to agree with you on this Clan Prime, I have owned and still do a linksys WRT54G,WRT160N and now on and using the WRT310N and on all 3 routers I have yet to this day to see all my comps listed on the DHCP Client Table.

 

As I am writing this up right now all I see is HP29F480 and that happens to be my Printer, no matter how many times I hit refresh that's all I see in the table...... And trust me that's not all I have lol

 

4 Computers

2 Laptops

1 Printer

Wii

Xbox 360

Xbox original

PS2

1 Direct TV HD-DVR

And a home server

 

Total of 13 items and only showing 1 lol, any ways you are right the LELA is much better for showing all but a bit slow but does show every thing connected to my router