Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Do you mean 
huelva
Accepted Solution

DoS protection E-series?

Hi,

I wondering whether the Linksys e1200 and/or e1500 offer any kind of Denial of Service (DoS) protection?

I'm currently looking for a new router and would love some info...

Thank you! 

Expert
Expert

Re: DoS protection E-series?

What kind of DoS protection?
huelva

Hmmm... Well first of, I'm a rookie when it comes to Routers and the like... I've spent a bit of time lately looking into various routers - what they can do and what they should be able to do.

I don't know which kind - I don't know if I as a private user is much of a target. But I've seen numerous routers and vendors advocate DoS protection. How to protect the router or network from "breaking down" or being compromised when flooded etc. I don't know?

It might all just be marketing but since a lot of other routers have DoS protection in their specs I feel I'm missing something on the E-series... or? 

Expert
Expert

For home routers there is very little you can do about DoS. If your connection is flooded or "breaks down", well, then the connection is flooded or breaks down. You have no control on what your ISP sends you or not. If your ISP forwards flooding traffic to your modem then the connection gets flooded. Your router will drop this traffic but that doesn't change anything on the fact that the connection is flooded and your download rate will go down dramatically.

Thus, usually your ISP will have to provide you with the necessary flood protection. You on your end can't do anything about it.