Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Do you mean 
Reply
pitroad
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎01-15-2013
Accepted Solution

E1200 hardware version ?

I have a Cisco E1200 router that is currently running firmware version 1.0.03 build4 Mar 1, 2012. Can I upgrade to the latest version 2 firmware ? How do I know if my router hardware will support it ?  Thanks

VALETLINKSYS
Posts: 438
Registered: ‎10-16-2011

Re: E1200 hardware version ?

It's Version 1.0




I believe that I can make it :smileyhappy:
pitroad
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎01-15-2013

Re: E1200 hardware version ?

So if I have version 1 hardware I can not load version 2 firmware. If I am reading things correctly I guess I'm running the latest firmware I can ?


VALETLINKSYS wrote:
It's Version 1.0

 

VALETLINKSYS
Posts: 438
Registered: ‎10-16-2011

Re: E1200 hardware version ?

[ Edited ]

Yes you can't and yes you have the latest firmware





I believe that I can make it :smileyhappy:
Expert
zee29
Posts: 1,329
Registered: ‎04-22-2012

Re: E1200 hardware version ?

The best way to check your hardware version is by looking for the model number on the device. And based on the firmware version, you do have a version 1 hardware. You may also check the release notes on the cisco website to verify what version you have. You may go to this link and you need to click on the download tab then you can select the hardware version and view the release notes.  http://homesupport.cisco.com/en-us/support/routers/E1200

cf2014
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎04-14-2014

Re: E1200 hardware version ?

I registered for this forum just to post a reply to this topic so that if there is a next person who finds this post looking for way to learn what version of hardware their E1200 router is (or any Cisco router really), they won't have to waste their time like I did reading correct but frustratingly unhelpful (to anyone but the OP) answers.

 

Question:  How do I know what version of hardware my router is (so I can download the correct firmware upgrade package)?

 

Answer: The version of hardware is indicated on the labels of the router itself - Serial Number and FCC ID.

 

HW Version      CPU speed                                RAM    lash memory    Radio       S/N Prefix     Notes

1.0Broadcom BCM5357 @ 300 MHz32 MB4 MB2.4 GHz 2x21081FCC ID: Q87-E1200
2.0Broadcom BCM5357 @ 300 MHz32 MB8 MB2.4 GHz 2x21082FCC ID: Q87-E1200V2

 

The S/N Prefix and FCC ID designation are ways you can tell what version of hardware your router is.  The table above (which I found on Wikipedia) shows examples for version 1 and 2 but does not list hardware version 2.2.  I am guessing it wouldn't be a stretch to assume that at least the FCC ID would show as Q87-E1200V2.2 for hardware version 2.2.

 

Its a pet peeve of mine to see these kinds of answers.  I tried getting over it and I couldn't.

kilokilo
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎04-22-2014

Re: E1200 hardware version ?

 

Thanks. It's one of my pet peeves too.

 

Cisco\Linksys please learn to correctly version hardware.....it's not that hard to add a V1 even if you never release another version.

daved31
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎11-23-2014

Re: E1200 hardware version ?

[ Edited ]

Thank you, your answer helped me identify the version of my hardware in seconds.  I appreciate the time you took to register and reply.  Your pet peeve saved me time and frustration. 

 

In this case I was especially annoyed since the download form requests "hardware version" and then provides a link which helps to identify model, which led me to a note which stated that the model number can be found printed on the top of the router.  *facepalm*

 

cf2014
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎04-14-2014

Re: E1200 hardware version ?

Good to know my effort was not in vain.  You are welcome gentlemen. 

 

Talk about a *facepalm* moment ... It kills me to see the accepted "Solution" to the thread sitting right above mine.  lol  I pity the fool who does not look beyond that post. 

 

They should have a mechanism for changing it when something better comes along.