Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Do you mean 
Reply
GerSonic
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎07-31-2010

E3000: Can it be used as a wireless access point without using it as a router?

Just purchased a E3000 and want to use it to replace an existing wireless access point.

 

I currently have a UVERSE modem/router...and do not want/need a second router.

 

Can the E3000 be configured as a ONLY a wireless access point?

 

Many thanks!

dudztgp
Posts: 1,496
Registered: ‎06-27-2010

Re: E3000: Can it be used as a wireless access point without using it as a router?

Here's the procedure. You can choose from LAN-LAN connection or Internet-LAN connection.

cassar
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎12-14-2010

Re: E3000: Can it be used as a wireless access point without using it as a router?

Hi all,

We have just purchased a Linksys E3000 to use it in our lan only as wireless Access Point in addition to the Dlink DWL-2100 APs.

I've already read article id 3733 but the described procedure do not work in our configuration.

Our LAN:
10.1.1.0/255.255.255.0

About 20 clients (desktop and servers) with static IP:

10.1.1.101-10.1.1.130

A 48 ports 3COM gigabit baseline switch

3 Internet gateways to ISPs
10.1.1.1
10.1.1.2
10.1.1.3

2 Dlink AP with DHCP
10.1.1.4 (dhcp assigns 10.1.1.210-10.1.1.219)
10.1.1.5 (dhcp assigns 10.1.1.220-10.1.1.229)

We need to add the Linksys E3000 as third AP:
10.1.1.6 (dhcp should assign 10.1.1.230-10.1.1.239)

We followed the article id 3733 instructions and we are able to connect wireless devices (iPhone, iPad, etc.) to the lan and share resources or access local servers but we cannot access the Internet.

We tried to add the "classic" routes by hand (e.g. 'route add 0.0.0.0 mask 0.0.0.0 10.1.1.1' or 'route add 0.0.0.0 mask 0.0.0.0 10.1.1.2' or 'route add 0.0.0.0 mask 0.0.0.0 10.1.1.3') using the web interface withous success ('invalid route' is the returned error).

What to do?
How setup one of the 3 internet gateways into the E3000?
Perhaps we made a wrong purchase?

Thank you for any suggestion and best regards.

Pierre Cassar

Expert
Expert
Posts: 12,649
Registered: ‎07-16-2006

Re: E3000: Can it be used as a wireless access point without using it as a router?

You must turn off the DHCP server on the E3000. It will always assign it's own IP address as gateway. Also remember not to connect the internet port of the E3000 to your network. You must use a numbered LAN port.

And generally, if you want a wireless access point you should get a wireless access point and not a wireless router.
cassar
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎12-14-2010

Re: E3000: Can it be used as a wireless access point without using it as a router?

But if I disable the E3000 dhcp how can I get an IP on the wireless devices?

I cannot assign static IP to the wireless devices.

 

So I sadly realize that we made a wrong purchase.

I have another spare  Dlink DWL-2100, I'll use it but it is not 802.11n.

 

Thank you anyway

 

Pierre Cassar

SPAWN_06
Posts: 510
Registered: ‎06-28-2006

Re: E3000: Can it be used as a wireless access point without using it as a router?

You don't have to assign static IP's on them because it will get DHCP assigned IP's from the first router...

 

Click here for instructions

 

Cascading (Connecting) a Linksys Router to Another Router

"The war between heaven and hell depends on the choices we make, and those choices require sacrifice. That's the test"
Expert
Expert
Posts: 12,649
Registered: ‎07-16-2006

Re: E3000: Can it be used as a wireless access point without using it as a router?

If you connect the E3000 with its LAN port to your network you have a single LAN. In a single LAN all your wireless devices connected to the E3000 can talk to all other devices in the LAN including any DHCP server running in your network. The wireless devices will get the IP address from the DHCP server on your main router.

Actually, you should not run two or more DHCP servers in your network. That's a bad idea. You can never tell which DHCP server a computer will pick to get an IP address. You may see that often a DHCP client will pick the DHCP server "closest", i.e. the one on the router to which it is directly connected, but technically the DHCP client will receive DHCP offers from all DHCP servers in your LAN and it is basically free to pick any DHCP offer it wants. Thus a computer which uses 10.1.1.210 at one time may use 10.1.1.225 at another time simply because it picked the offer from the other DHCP server...

Set up a single DHCP server which assigns proper IP addresses to all your DHCP clients connected to your LAN.
cassar
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎12-14-2010

Re: E3000: Can it be used as a wireless access point without using it as a router?

Thanks for you note.

 

Anyway:

 

We use do not have dhcp on our 3 routers to ISPs (10.1.1.1, 10.1.1.2, 10.1.1.3).

We have dhcp only on 2 DWL-2100 access points (10.1.1.4, 10.1.1.5)

There's non problem if a wireless device gets IP from any dhcp.

The real problem is that I do not know how to set the E3000 (10.1.1.6) to let it "know" one of the 3 internet gateways.

I worked on the "Internet setup" and tried all the options (dhcp, pppoe, etc.) to specify a gateway with no success.

I worked on "static routes" to simulate  a 'route add 0.0.0.0 mask 0.0.0.0 10.1.1.1' but I obtain "invalid mask".

Tomorrow I'll try to install DD-WRT firmware for E3000 and finally I'll activate the third DWL-2100 (unfortunally not 802.11n).

 

Thank you

 

Pierre Cassar

 

Expert
Expert
Posts: 12,649
Registered: ‎07-16-2006

Re: E3000: Can it be used as a wireless access point without using it as a router?

If you use the E3000 only as access point then there is no problem with those 3 internet gateways. Remember you have connected on the LAN ports of the E3000 to your LAN. The E3000 does not have not know about the gateways It doesn't use them anyway. The E3000 only bridges wireless clients into your ethernet LAN. Your wireless clients thus have direct access to those gateways and the DHCP servers.