Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Do you mean 
rwdoyle

E3000 Issue with External Storage (Solved)

I recently bought an E3000 router because I wanted to hang a large USB drive off it to use as a backup disk for all of my household data.  I have small Windows Active Directory (I'm an IT professional with an MSDN subscription) in my house.  I created accounts on the E3000 with the same name and password as my AD accounts.  I set the "workgroup" to the same name as my AD.  This allowed me to map drives to the E3000 storage without having to enter seperate credentials.  It worked perfectly until...

Once I started copying large files to the E3000 it would get about 10 minutes in and then report a non-specific error ("there was a a problem accessing the disk").  After a couple of days of pulling my hair out it occurred to me the problem may be related to the fact that my username and password matched the AD username and password.

So, I created accounts on the E3000 which were completely different, mapped drives using the "user other credentials" options, and now everything works fine!  I just wanted to share this information in case anyone else finds themselves in the same situation.

So, if you are using an AD on your network and you are sharing storage on the router, do not use the same usernames and passwords which are on the AD for the router accounts.

UnknownHero

Re: E3000 Issue with External Storage (Solved)

Good info. Thanks for sharing. A kudos to you! :smileyhappy:

westfaliawerke

I just picked up  an Linksys E3000 after my D-Link DIR-625i failed.

I do not have an Active Directory on my bride's home network, It is not connected through a Domain Server, and is only using a Windows Workgroup, and the network is controlled by Cisco's Network Magic Pro.

Do you suspect any problems with connecting a 500Gb usb drive to the E3000 and making all references to mapped partitions and subdirectories through the default Windows Workgroup?

p3busman

[ Edited ]