Reply
grogsailor
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎05-31-2010

E3000 and DDNS

I have my E3000 FTP server on, I set up a DDNS address through DynDNS, and then put that information in the DDNS screen of Cisco Setup.  My question is, will the E3000 router automatically update DynDNS when and if my IP changes? Or do I need to download the DynDNS windows update client to monitor my IP and send updates to DynDNS?.  I am using Comcast Cable and I assume my IP address will change.

 

TIA

 

quack
Posts: 2,544
Registered: ‎09-07-2006

Re: E3000 and DDNS

You do not have to update the DynDNS manually.If you have registered with the DynDNS service then,it should update automatically.

grogsailor
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎05-31-2010

Re: E3000 and DDNS

 


quack wrote:

You do not have to update the DynDNS manually.If you have registered with the DynDNS service then,it should update automatically.


 

This is where I am confused, how does DynDNS update automatically. I mean what tells DynDNS that my IP address changed?

 

quack
Posts: 2,544
Registered: ‎09-07-2006

Re: E3000 and DDNS

You can refer to this link which explain how the DynDNS service work and get updated automatically.

grogsailor
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎05-31-2010

Re: E3000 and DDNS

Thank You!

bobwmendon
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎11-02-2010

Re: E3000 and DDNS

It will automatically update it for you. There's no need to use an additional client.

alexpaso
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎12-18-2010

Re: E3000 and DDNS

I need to use my DDNS service on Noip,com Can you hekp me ? BW

SpudNuts
Posts: 27
Registered: ‎11-16-2010

Re: E3000 and DDNS

I think they only support dyndns.org and tzo.com

 

why? I have no idea because there are plenty more dynamic dns services. Unless there is a trick to add another one, I don't think noip.com will work.

 

To the author, It would have to do an automatic update to the service or it wouldn't be "dynamic" and would be a waste of code. Not that cisco doesn't already have quite a few bits of wasted code in some of its products :smileyhappy:

chees chili
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎12-30-2010

Re: E3000 and DDNS

does my e3000 update automatically?

How do I update it?

FBIG
Posts: 14
Registered: ‎03-31-2008

Re: E3000 and DDNS

[ Edited ]

My E3000 is using two DDNS services, OpenDNS and DynDNS.  How? I'm running TomatoUSB firmware at TomatoUSB.

 

The list of services on my current Tomato Build are:

 

Shortname      Description
3322           3322
3322-static    3322 - Static
dnsexit        DNS Exit
dnsomatic      DNS-O-Matic
dyndns         DynDNS - Dynamic
dyndns-static  DynDNS - Static
dyndns-custom  DynDNS - Custom
sdyndns        DynDNS (https) - Dynamic
sdyndns-static DynDNS (https) - Static
sdyndns-custom DynDNS (https) - Custom
dyns           DyNS
easydns        easyDNS
seasydns       easyDNS (https)
editdns        EditDNS
everydns       EveryDNS
enom           eNom
afraid         FreeDNS (afraid.org)
heipv6tb       HE.net IPv6 Tunnel Broker
ieserver       ieServer.net
namecheap      namecheap
noip           No-IP.com
opendns        OpenDNS
tzo            TZO
zoneedit       ZoneEdit
szoneedit      ZoneEdit (https)
custom         Custom URL

 So, if you try one of the Tomato variants (I use TomatoUSB 1.28.7440 MIPSR2-Toastman E3000 USB Ext) and it works well for me.

/s/ FBIG a.k.a. BezantSoft

 

SOHO Network: E3000 TomatoUSB (1.28.7440 MIPSR2-Toastman E3000 USB Ext); WRT54G (Base Tomato 1.28.1816) as AP; Belkin 150 N+ Gbit Storage Router; HP P4@3.2G 64bHT W7(32bit)Ult & WinXP Virtual instance. HP P4@2.667G, XPProSP3. IBM P4@2.40G XPProSP3. DIY P4 64b@2.8G, W7Ult32. HP Lappy@1.6G, XPProSP3, w 100M, 802.11G, builtins 1G PCMCIA & WUSB600N addon Nics. all running NM 5.5.9195.0-pure0.beta. Hawking PrtSrv 100M to USB. Offline: BEFW11S4, WRT54GC, ADSTech NAS 100Mx500Gb. Son took Xbox360 to college. {sniff!}