Reply
sam_nirmal
Posts: 39
Registered: ‎07-14-2011
Accepted Solution

E4200 in bridge mode

Hi,

 

The latest firmware seems to support bridge mode.  Does it mean the router can connect to another router wirelessly in the bridge mode?

 

hiptechboy
Posts: 1,557
Registered: ‎01-03-2011

Re: E4200 in bridge mode

No, it bridges the LAN and WAN ports allowing E4200 to downgrade to an access point. 

I don't work for Cisco. I'm just here to help.
sam_nirmal
Posts: 39
Registered: ‎07-14-2011

Re: E4200 in bridge mode

Thanks.

 

WDS support is needed for that I think.

hiptechboy
Posts: 1,557
Registered: ‎01-03-2011

Re: E4200 in bridge mode

That is correct :smileyhappy:

I don't work for Cisco. I'm just here to help.
Rottfro
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎01-01-2012

Re: E4200 in bridge mode

You say it would downgrade to an access point.  What does Cisco have that would be a better (maybe less expensive) option that would have the 1GB ports and still be able to distribute their wireless N speeds?  I contacted Cisco chat and t looking for an access point/bridge and they only threw out the E4200.  I was thinking they were just trying to sell the most expensive item they have.

hiptechboy
Posts: 1,557
Registered: ‎01-03-2011

Re: E4200 in bridge mode

They have wireless-N bridges (up to 300mbps), but no gigabit ports and they don't have access point functionality. 

 

You won't need gigabit ports with those kinds of bridges because their speeds most likely won't come near 100mbps. 

I don't work for Cisco. I'm just here to help.
Rottfro
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎01-01-2012

Re: E4200 in bridge mode

Good to know, thanks for the info.