Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Do you mean 
Reply
devilchiu
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎04-29-2012

EA4500 too slow?

 

leff side is using router,right side without using router,pls help

 

**only 1 pc in my home,and collected with cat5 lan cabletest.JPG

VALETLINKSYS
Posts: 438
Registered: ‎10-16-2011

Re: EA4500 too slow?

Hmmm .. Have you change some settings on the router ? Like MTU ?





I believe that I can make it :smileyhappy:
Corleone
Posts: 2,785
Registered: ‎09-07-2006

Re: EA4500 too slow?

If you are getting the slow speed then try the following combinations of settings:

A] With the help of Cisco Connect Software (if at all you have installed the router with the help of this software)

          1] Open the software and go to the option which says "Router Settings"

          2] Then click on the option which says "Advanced Settings" which will take you to the router's configuration page.

          3] Lower the MTU (Maximum Transmission Unit) from 1500 to 1400 or less (usually found on your router's main/ basic setup page). Here is the link for determining and setting up the correct MTU size: http://www6.nohold.net/Cisco2/ukp.aspx?vw=1&docid=fbf8e8564632422eaa8ea80bf9dcba64_386.xml&pid=80&re...

     

       Then check the status..

devilchiu
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎04-29-2012

Re: EA4500 too slow?

yes,1460.1462.1480

VALETLINKSYS
Posts: 438
Registered: ‎10-16-2011

Re: EA4500 too slow?

Do you have the cisco connect installed on your computer ? You can try uninstalling it and manually set up the router without the cisco connect software . Then check the speed again




I believe that I can make it :smileyhappy:
devilchiu
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎04-29-2012

Re: EA4500 too slow?

still can't help~maybe this router cant afford too fast speed

jaymay
Posts: 1,830
Registered: ‎04-22-2012

Re: EA4500 too slow?

This router is an advanced router. Maybe changing some settings on it will do the trick.

 

By the way, the speed that you shown on the top, is it thru a wired or wireless connection?

adiwan
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎08-21-2012

Re: EA4500 too slow?

I tried all the settings on EA4500 but the download speeds are miserable. I even forced Cisco 2nd level tech support to help me after past the 90-day support period for S/W but that did not help.

 

I switched in my old Belkin Pre-N and it works fine ... even an older NetGear works better in wireless mode.

 

The funny thing is the upload speeds are fine between 5Mbps & 6Mbps but the download speeds spurt to 10Mbps to 11Mbps briefly and then drop down to around 2Mbps.

 

The Belkin Pre-N gives me between 15Mbps - 20Mbps wireless.

 

I do not believe I am the only one - Google search EA4500 slow wireless performance (in my case it is only the download speed and I suspect that is the case in most situations).

 

One other word of advice: Do not use CLOUD CONNECT (Google for problems including privacy issues) ... revert to older non-CloudConnect (instructions on Cisco site).

 

This is a sorry H/W and no one at Cisco/LinkSys seems to bother (when LinkSys was LinkSys never faced such problems).

 

routemebaby
Posts: 14
Registered: ‎08-22-2012

Re: EA4500 too slow?

I found the solution elsewhere on this board: downgrade to the latest non-Connect Cloud firmware.  Works perfectly.

 

Download page: EA4500

adiwan
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎08-21-2012

Re: EA4500 too slow?

Downgrade to the latest non-Cloud did not help me.

 

Seems like certain H/W revs of the EA4500 have a problem since many people are complaining.