Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Do you mean 
Reply
heliosjet
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎04-18-2013

Re: EA6500 - Unable to upgrade to fw 1.1.28.147876

 

I used both method (update from GUI and update from a .SSA file). If I power off the router the fw is restored to the previous one.

heliosjet
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎04-18-2013

Re: EA6500 - Unable to upgrade to fw 1.1.28.147876

 

I was able to get the latest firmware permanent by:

 

1 - use firefox osx instead of safari osx

2 - after the automatic reboot at the end on the firmware installation, instead of doing a reset or power off to see if it doesn't revert back to the old firmware (of course everything was functionning and the new fw was listed), I rebooted again the EA6500 using this time the reboot option in the smart wifi control panel.

 

Then I power off the router and no magic fw downgrade.

 

Not sure the reason is 1 or 2, I  just hope my message will help someone.

 

ivanlaw
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎04-23-2013

Re: EA6500 - Unable to upgrade to fw 1.1.28.147876

[ Edited ]

i have same issue.

 

i updated the ea6500 to fw 1.1.28.146856 from older fw.

the router reboot, led light 7 sec, then flash every 1 sec. It freezed. No setup screen. Can ping.

chatted with tech, after 1hrs trouble shooting, they told me a method to recall it from freezed. 

"power on/2flash/power off/power on/2flash/power off/power on/2flash/power off/power on", it should do a factory default. So, the setting will do a reset, base on the fw installed.

 

My lazy mistake, put in old config backup. :smileysad:

the router freeze again after the reboot.

 

redo the "power on2flash/power off/power on/2flash/power off/power on/2flash/power off/power on", then manual reconfig the router.

some how a reboot make the router freeze again !!!

 

redo the "power on2flash/power off/power on/2flash/power off/power on/2flash/power off/power on", first do a factory reset, reboot with all default setting, it works, then manual reconfig the router.

 

Now it works, and i do a config backup, NOTICE, old backup (older fw ) is 8K, but new backup is 6K!

There must be some structure different in the new fw, so old data will crash it.

 

Then, i try update the router to new 1.1.28.147876

 

Tried XP, W7, W8,  IE8, chrome, IE10. auto update, manual update, all back to 146856 after the reboot/power cycle.

Chat with tech again, they ask me try rename .SSA to .bin, do manual update. NO, it won't work. 

 

The only method i havn't try is TFTP, since i don't have a good collection of all the old fw in .bin format. 

 

Total hours used to fix these problem .... ~6hrs (chat about 3hrs).  They offer a replacement. 

A new router won't help, this is firmware issue. 

They should fix it.

 

luce.evening.star
Posts: 855
Registered: ‎02-11-2013

Re: EA6500 - Unable to upgrade to fw 1.1.28.147876

Try turning off any firewall on your computer. Like for a windows 7 machine, it has Windows Live Essentials. I have read somewhere (I cannot remember the link though or from which website but I think it’s here in the forum) that after turning off Windows Live Essentials, it resolved the issue about the firmware. Do try as well the steps mentioned by heliosjet (above).  

ivanlaw
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎04-23-2013

Re: EA6500 - Unable to upgrade to fw 1.1.28.147876

[ Edited ]

Tried everything to upgrade the firmware, different OS, different Browser, on/off firewall and anti-virus. auto/manual, all not working.

 

Even i make it stay in 1.1.28.147876. As "mentioned by heliosjet", only because i use 'reboot' in setup page, but don't do power cycle.

Power cycle will reboot the router and it will freeze. "led on 7 second, flash every 1 second"

Setup page will never respond.

 

Finally,

I've done this.

 

  1. Download latest firmware from Linksys.com : FW_EA6500_1.1.28.147876_prod.SSA
  2. Search and download : Tftp.exe
  3. Unplug all cable, only use 1 computer connected to it. with Static IP 192.168.1.2
  4. Power on router. Wait for the LED flash.
  5. Using Command prompt window, ping 192.168.1.1, make sure router respond to you.
  6. Run Tftp.exe
  7. Key in Server: 192.168.1.1
  8. Key in Password: same as your administor password of the router
  9. File: select FW_EA6500_1.1.28.147876_prod.SSA
  10. then press : Upgrade

 

All done, router back to normal and stay with 1.1.28.147876, no more freezing. do 'Factory default' and re-set all config.

 

btw. find another strange issue, the config backup file size changed again. 

old default fw : 8k

1.1.28.146856 : 6k

1.1.28.147876 : 5k

i think this may be the problem for the upgrade and freezing. Old setup data crashed the new firmware. 

 

How come, there is NO function,  a check box for 'after firmware upgrage, do factory reset before reboot' ???!

 

luce.evening.star
Posts: 855
Registered: ‎02-11-2013

Re: EA6500 - Unable to upgrade to fw 1.1.28.147876

Thank you for sharing the steps. Regarding the backup file size, it is possible that other text files where somehow included and that is why the file size increased. Usually for the advanced wireless routers, the router reboots after firmware upgrade. Reset is necessary especially when there’s no difference after modifying or changing the router settings.

imanrojo
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎07-04-2013

Re: EA6500 - Unable to upgrade to fw 1.1.28.147876

Hello Ivan, thank so much for you input, I can't permanently update to fw 1.1.28147876 in my router, I can't connect with the router use Tftp.exe, how you open the port ftp in the router??

Where download the Tftp.exe? that works!!

 

6.Run Tftp.exe (here I'm stoped)

 

Regards.

Martín

Expert
sabretooth
Posts: 5,328
Registered: ‎11-11-2008

Re: EA6500 - Unable to upgrade to fw 1.1.28.147876

Just to let you know, you are NEVER to use a backup configuration file on different firmware.  The backup file is for THAT version of firmware, nothing else.  After every firmware upgrade you are to hard reset your router and reconfigure it back to your settings manually never using a backup file.

imanrojo
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎07-04-2013

Re: EA6500 - Unable to upgrade to fw 1.1.28.147876

Ok sabretooth, this part is clear for me, but, could update you to fw 1.1.28.147876, permanentley??

ivanlaw
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎04-23-2013

Re: EA6500 - Unable to upgrade to fw 1.1.28.147876

when you do the step: Using Command prompt window, ping 192.168.1.1, make sure router respond to you.

 

Is the router respond to you?

 

if so, Tftp should be able to connect with the router.

 

Suggest, you try, use 30/30/30 reset, and follow the steps again. use default password. See if it works.

 

for the Tftp.exe, try get here : http://downloads.linksys.com/downloads/Tftp.exe