Reply
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎09-24-2012

Re: EA6500 defective??

I kept my old wireless network up while setting up the new one. The laptop works if I connect to using my old wireless network.

My antivirus is microsoft essential.

 

Posts: 1,206
Registered: ‎05-04-2012

Re: EA6500 defective??

 

 

Hi,

 

Have you tried creating a new wireless network  name? If not, you might try it first so we can isolate further and also on the vista laptop, remove the old network before reconnecting to the new one.

Here's how, click start menu > control panel > open network and sharing center < manage wireless networks (open left-hand side of the page) > you should be able to see all networks the laptop used to connect.

You could also change the wireless channel check this link. http://www6.nohold.net/Cisco2/ukp.aspx?vw=1&docid=8b7479ec8abb4d1689ea076cbf8d87ea_KB_EN_v1.xml&pid=...

 

Expert
Posts: 2,736
Registered: ‎07-07-2012

Re: EA6500 defective??

[ Edited ]
Did you try rebooting/restarting the vista computer so it can obtain a new IP address?

Also make sure your vista computer does not have static IP address in your tcp/ip settings.
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎09-24-2012

Re: EA6500 defective??

I've tried everything suggested here and some things suggested by others.

i've got vista home premium on this one laptop and i can only connect to the guest account.

 

 

 

Expert
Posts: 1,329
Registered: ‎04-22-2012

Re: EA6500 defective??


steve_z wrote:

I've tried everything suggested here and some things suggested by others.

i've got vista home premium on this one laptop and i can only connect to the guest account.

 

 

 


Did you set your network name the same as with your old router's? When you connect to your network make sure that your old router is not turned on. Remove the preferred networks first. Like what was mentioned by previous posts here you have to remove the old network name. If you see the new network name on the list, remove it as well so that it will allow you to reconnect to the network. Remove also the guest network name from the saved networks list.

 

How to clear the preferred networks with vista:

 

http://support.sasktel.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/11811/~/how-to-remove-preferred-networks-in-windo...

Expert
Posts: 2,736
Registered: ‎07-07-2012

Re: EA6500 defective??

What's the make and model of your modem? Cable modem or dsl modem?
Expert
Posts: 2,736
Registered: ‎07-07-2012

Re: EA6500 defective??

[ Edited ]
If you change the local ip of the linksys to 192.168.2.1 and the dhcp range to 192.168.2.100,
It will likely solve your problem.

The best solution, however, would be to put your modem in bridge mode. And then reconfigure your EA6500 by running the Cisco connect cd
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎09-24-2012

Re: EA6500 defective??

Did all of that multiple times. Shut down, restarted, nothing helped.

Expert
Posts: 2,736
Registered: ‎07-07-2012

Re: EA6500 defective??

See post above
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎09-24-2012

Re: EA6500 defective??

Verizon m1424wr