Reply
Justme2012
Posts: 20
Registered: ‎09-06-2012
Can anyone help with setting up ea2700 to enable remote DVR viewing?
I have tried port forwarding and enabling remote management. But I can only access locally.
Expert
jlbjlb
Posts: 2,736
Registered: ‎07-07-2012

Re: Ea 2700

Try going to security tab of router GUI and unchecking box "block anonymous Internet requests".
ylime1984
Posts: 1,206
Registered: ‎05-04-2012

Re: Ea 2700

 

Hi,

 

Accessing your DVR remotely may require you to enable to set the DVR to static ip. Open ports on the router from DVR administrator. Then, you have to get the internet ip from your ISP through the router and use it when you try to access the DVR remotely. For example, http://68.23.65.12:8080.

 

Setting Up Remote Access on a Linksys Router: There are related links associated to this that will help you.

http://www6.nohold.net/Cisco2/ukp.aspx?vw=1&docid=f545a4cef23540dcb53af7d0c63c418e_16854.xml&pid=80&...

Justme2012
Posts: 20
Registered: ‎09-06-2012

Re: Ea 2700

I dont need the link because I do have a static IP. It still doesnt work. can you or anyone think of another solution?

jaymay
Posts: 1,830
Registered: ‎04-22-2012

Re: Ea 2700

The static IP address for your DVR, is it in range with the IP of the router? What is the make, brand and model of your DVR?

 

Found this on the net: to consider the following to make the DVR working thru your router: make sure that your modem is giving out a public IP address to avoid double NAT issues ; enable port forwarding  on the router using the DVR's IP address (advise to us static IP for the DVR), the service port numbers may be predefined for each DVR and it may be different for other manufacturers; and you can also try disabling Filter Anonymous Internet Requests under the Security tab on the router's page.

 

To access the DVR, you can use a browser and type "http://(public ip of the router): service port number forwarded on the router). Some DVR's though require a software to access them over the web, while some can be accessed by using a browser

Justme2012
Posts: 20
Registered: ‎09-06-2012

Re: Ea 2700

Tried that but afterward I coul not view on local network so had to switch back
Justme2012
Posts: 20
Registered: ‎09-06-2012

Re: Ea 2700

Yes I tried that. Do you know if there is a 1800 number that I can call Cisco and speak to someone?
lheyvens
Posts: 267
Registered: ‎04-22-2012

Re: Ea 2700

Check if you can ping the router's WAN ip. If you get 4 replies you should now be able to access the DVR remote(http:WAN_IP:smileytongue:ort). You can also check on this link:http://ping.eu/port-chk/ to check if that port is open. 

Justme2012
Posts: 20
Registered: ‎09-06-2012

Re: Ea 2700

Yes I did that after trying all th other suggestions yet the ports were closed
Expert
jlbjlb
Posts: 2,736
Registered: ‎07-07-2012

Re: Ea 2700

Try downloading PFportchecker. That's what I use. You can google for it.....then do the custom install and uncheck the tool bar stuff.

Closed ports don't necessary mean blocked ports.