Reply
tombstoner
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎04-09-2007

Have to restart computer every morning to use Internet

Why do I have to restart my computer every morning and sometimes during the day in order to use the Internet. I try to use the Internet and it is just dead. I can access the router's IP address and also the network, just not the Internet. Any help would be greatly appreciated. Thanks!
Sriraj
Posts: 149
Registered: ‎04-28-2007

Re: Have to restart computer every morning to use Internet

 
Kindly let me know the Router's Model Number and
 
Version Number, the Number of Desktop Computers,
 
and wireless computers in your network, and the Name
 
of the Internet Service Provider , so that we could assist
 
you better .
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Posts: 164
Registered: ‎03-21-2007

Re: Have to restart computer every morning to use Internet

Then this is a DSL issue, ask your ISP to set up a 24 hour watch in order to find out where the problem lays.
nir
nir
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎06-17-2007

Re: Have to restart computer every morning to use Internet

Have you tried to run anti-virus and anti spyware to check for problems.
tombstoner
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎04-09-2007

Re: Have to restart computer every morning to use Internet

WRT54G
Firmware Version: v1.00.9
1 hardwired PC and 1 wirless PC, both on Windows XP
My ISP is Wildblue (satellite internet)
 
I have no spyware or viruses
Sriraj
Posts: 149
Registered: ‎04-28-2007

Re: Have to restart computer every morning to use Internet

 
First things being First, Connect the Modem directly to the Computer.
 
If Online through the modem, check the IPADDRESS
 
[ start - in ' start search ' field , type cmd, press return, you get a
 
DOS Prompt - type ipconfig/all - check the IP Address for Ethernet LAN
 
Connection ] And copy the Physical Address just above the
 
IP Address as well.
 
Now,Connect the Cable Modem to the Internet Port on the Router.
 
Then , Connect the Computer using a different Ethernet Cable to
 
Port 1 or Port 2 on the Router.
 
Now, Press the Reset Button on the rear panel of the Router
 
for 12 Seconds. Then, Release the Reset Button,
 
Unplug the Power Adapter to the Router. After 10 Seconds,
 
Unplug the Power Adapter to the Modem. Then Wait for
 
30 Seconds, Re-connect the Modem, and once the Lights are
 
up on the Modem, Re-connect the Linksys Router.
 
Now Check whether you are Online with the Computer
 
plugged into the Router.If yes, Open a new Internet Explorer
 
Page, and in the address bar, type http://192.168.1.1, press
 
return, And when asked for Username and Password,
 
Leave the Username blank and in the Password field,
 
type admin . This will help you access the Router's
 
Console. Now, Now, Below the Setup Tab, Click the
 
Tab in the blue line just below that says " MAC Address
 
Clone", Enable it, Type the Physical Address of your Primary
 
Computer [ the 00-Numbers that you have copied ] Once done,
 
Click " Clone your PC's MAC " then Click " Save Settings "
 
Now,
 
Click the Tab " Wireless " at the top,
 
Rename the SSID from ' Linksys' to your preferred name. 
 
Alter the Wireless Channel to 11, Enable the SSID broadcast ,
 
Save the Settings.
 
 
Then Click the Tab ' Wireless Security ' below the Wireless Tab,
 
Set the Security Mode to WEP, Default Key as Key 1,
 
Encryption Mode as ' 64 Bits10 Hex Digits ' ,
 
Leave the Passphrase blank, Type a 10 digit Key
 
[ can contain 0-9, A-F ] in WEP Key 1 Field alone,
 
Copy the Key on a piece of paper for your reference,
 
Save the Settings. Restart the Wireless Computer.
 
Search for the Network , While connecting to the New
 
Network , and when prompted for Security key, Type
 
 the 10 Digit Number/ Confirm it. It should connect.
 
 
If Issues recur, Updating the Firmware on the Router
 
could help.
 
 
Frequent Disconnection from the Internet through the
 
Router could be fixed by upgrading the Firmware on the
 
Router.
 
Firmware to the Linksys Routers are available for free,
 
 
 
First, you need to locate the Hardware version of the
 
Router [ found underneath the Router, below the
 
Linksys Logo,  (Model Number ,Version Number ),
 
Select the Same from the aforesaid website and
 
update the same.
 
 
More Instructions on Updating the Firmware :
 
Goto http://linksys.com/kb and search for
 
Answer Id : 4030 [ Upgrading the Router's
 
Firmware ]
 
Revert back in case of any further assistance.