Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Do you mean 
Reply
Schmidtrouter
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎11-29-2010
Accepted Solution

How can I optimize my router signal ?

  When Im in a room downstairs from where my router is in I can barely get a signal on my iPod Touch and Xbox!!   I was wondering if there is a way to optimize the signal of my router so that I won't have any connection issues... p.s.  sometimes resetting the router helps but not as much as I'd like.

Expert
sabretooth
Posts: 5,329
Registered: ‎11-11-2008

Re: How can I optimize my router signal ?

Model number of router? Firmware version?

Schmidtrouter
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎11-29-2010

Re: How can I optimize my router signal ?

 WRT54G2 version 1.5.... FW_WRT54G2V1.5_1.5.01.013_US_20091021

airude
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎11-30-2010

Re: How can I optimize my router signal ?

You can actually change the channel of your wireless settings.

Schmidtrouter
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎11-29-2010

Re: How can I optimize my router signal ?

How do I change the channel???  Can I do that through my pc ?  I dont know alot about routers!  Last Christmas I bought a wireless adaptor for my Xbox and didnt even know I needed a router... yeah Im a bit outta touch with technology!   Anyways, please tell me how to change the channel settings!  You might want to talk to me like Im a 3 year old even though Im 31 LOL!

Expert
sabretooth
Posts: 5,329
Registered: ‎11-11-2008

Re: How can I optimize my router signal ?

Try these settings.

 

Gain access to the routers admin pages.  Connect via wired computer to 192.168.1.1 with your browser, username blank, password 'admin' (of whatever you change it too). 

 

Disable UPnP.  Under wireless settings Beacon interval 75, RTS and Fragmentation threshold 2304.  Try channel 1 or 11.  Save settings and reconnect.

Schmidtrouter
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎11-29-2010

Re: How can I optimize my router signal ?

Thanks... Seems to have improved quite a bit!