jaybar

How can I port forward with a dynamic IP?

I am using mirc and need to port forward, BUT, I only have a dynamic IP. I am very new to this, but most of what I read says I need a static IP.  Is there a work-around? Can one port forward with a dynamic IP?

Thanks,

Jay
Expert
Expert

Re: How can I port forward with a dynamic IP?

Where do you have a dynamic IP address? On the internet connection or on your computer?

On the computer, you change the IP address in the network connections control panel, clicking on the connection you are using, choosing properties, then select "TCP/IP" in the list of elements in the middle and press the Properties button again. Theer you can enter a static IP address. To find the correct values for all the fields (IP address, subnet mask, gateway, dns server) I would recommend to open a command prompt window ("Run..." and "cmd") and enter "ipconfig /all". Look for the active connection. The IP address is something in 192.168.1.100-149, subnet mask should be 255.255.255.0, gateway 192.168.1.1, dns server might be 192.168.1.1 as well or something completely different. Copy all those values except the IP address into the window to configure the static IP address. You must change the IP address. Choose any available address in 192.168.1.2-99,150-254. This IP address will be the IP address to which you have to configure the port forwarding.