Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Do you mean 
Reply
dschwartz1957
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎01-14-2012
Accepted Solution

How to determine E4200 V1 or V2?

The support and registration pages for the E4200 wireless router ask whether I have a V1 or V2 router. There is no place on the actual router that identifies it as V1 or V2, and the Cisco Connect application doesn't display this infomation either. What I do know is the following:

 

Model name:               Linksys E4200

Model number:            E4200

Serial number:             01C10C18104423

Firmware version:       1.0.03 build 14

Software version:        1.4.12005.2

 

How do I determine if this is a V1 or V2 router? The software updates are version specific.

 

Thank you,

 

David Schwartz

davidssw
Posts: 123
Registered: ‎09-06-2007

Re: How to determine E4200 V1 or V2?

[ Edited ]

I believe the firmware v 1.0 indicates a V1 E4200 and the 1.0.03 build 14 is the firmware that is installed on my V1

Expert
Expert
Posts: 12,649
Registered: ‎07-16-2006

Re: How to determine E4200 V1 or V2?

[ Edited ]

Look on the label underneath the router. If it's a model "E4200" it is v1. If it is v2 it shows "E4200v2".

Your's seems to be a v1.

 

Did you even click on the "Where's my model number?" just next to the hardware version drop down menu?

dschwartz1957
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎01-14-2012

Re: How to determine E4200 V1 or V2?

Yes, the ""Where's my model number?" drop down is totally useless. It just shows views of the underside of various routers. My router has E4200 printed on the top and bottom.

 

What is the difference between a V1 and V2 E4200?

davidssw
Posts: 123
Registered: ‎09-06-2007

Re: How to determine E4200 V1 or V2?

The hardware is completely different along with the firmware.  There is a good review of both V1 and V2 at smallnetbuilder.com.

If I remember correctly the V2 in terms wireless perf. tested very similar to the V1, but the V2 did offer much improved disk I/O thoughput to devices plugged into the USB port.

 

 

Expert
Expert
Posts: 12,649
Registered: ‎07-16-2006

Re: How to determine E4200 V1 or V2?


dschwartz1957 wrote:

Yes, the ""Where's my model number?" drop down is totally useless. It just shows views of the underside of various routers. My router has E4200 printed on the top and bottom.


Totally useless??

 

The page says the relevant information is on the label underneath the router. Not on top.

 

The page says 12 (!) times, for all kinds of devices:

"If there is no version number beside the model number it means that is version 1."

What is unclear about that??? You look on the label underneath the router which looks similar like the one on the page and it says the model no. It says if there is no version number it means version 1.

aise
Posts: 60
Registered: ‎06-30-2011

Re: How to determine E4200 V1 or V2?

is v2 available in Europe?

dschwartz1957
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎01-14-2012

Re: How to determine E4200 V1 or V2?

It is useless becauser there is NO version number printed on the bottom of the router. The whole point of the link was to help distinguish between a V1 and V2 E4200, which it failed to do. In fact, the model number is not printed on the label at all. It is embossed in the plastic case below the label. The label contains the serial number, MAC address, and another nnnn-nnnn number. There is no version number or model number.

somms
Posts: 129
Registered: ‎03-20-2008

Re: How to determine E4200 V1 or V2?


dschwartz1957 wrote:

It is useless becauser there is NO version number printed on the bottom of the router. The whole point of the link was to help distinguish between a V1 and V2 E4200, which it failed to do. In fact, the model number is not printed on the label at all. It is embossed in the plastic case below the label. The label contains the serial number, MAC address, and another nnnn-nnnn number. There is no version number or model number.



http://www.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?p=661393&highlight=#661393

 

Easy to identify E4200 V# via s/n:

 

01C10C = a V1

01C106 = a V2



FTTH

Member of the Professional Aviation Safety Specialists Union!
RogerSC
Posts: 507
Registered: ‎08-01-2009

Re: How to determine E4200 V1 or V2?

Also, it is typical of Linksys that version 1 will not have a version number on the label on the bottom.  After that, they will show a version number on the label.  And that's also true of other router manufacturers in my experience.