Oleg123

How to printer wireless - from laptop through router to printer

I have a new Dell’s laptop which I was able to configure to use the wireless WRT54GS router to access the DSL modem to go to the Internet.  This works fine.

Now I want to add the printer to the fry.

What do I have to do – in as many detail and possible – to add this printer to the router in order to be able to print from my laptop (wirelessly) to the printer?

I am new to networking and wireless networking, so any help (in easy step-by-step format preferably) would be greatly appreciated.

Re: How to printer wireless - from laptop through router to printer

Oleg123

Thank you for the lead.

However, does it mean that I have to have multi PC/Laptop environment – and that one of these PC/Laptop machines has to link to the Printer?

If yes then it is not for me.  I have a laptop, a wireless router and a printer. 

How do I piece this together?

frederuco

Hoss, not sure if you figured this out yet. I have 2 printers hooked up to my network so I can print from any computer, including wireless laptops. Depending on your printer, it will make a difference. Both of my printers have hard wired ethernet ports (Canon MF5770 and HP 6980) I have the Canon hooked directly to my WRT54G, and the HP has both wired and wireless built into it, so that I have in my living room and it is just plugged into the wall.

If you do not have a printer with a network card, you will need a network print server, I am going to assume that your printer is USB. If you are going to have it near your router (in an office) you can use a wired print server (linksys PPS1UW) and you will have to follow the config instructions for the print server. If you would like it somewhere away from your router, they you may want to consider a wireless print server (linksys WPS54G).