Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Do you mean 
dinoalbert

How to setup password to protect my wireless home network

Hi everyone.

Please bear with me...Im a newbie in Wireless Home networking.

I just bought today a WRT54G wireless router and I was able now to connect a (wired) desktop and WiFi laptop to it.

My questions now are:

1) how do I configure it such that it asks for a password before a device can connect to it?

2) how do I know if someone else, or a neighbor is connecting/ connected to it?

3) Is there a way for me to see list of all devices/PCs that are connected to it...just to know if an "outsider" is connected to it?

Im asking this because when i tried to connect that WiFi laptop, it connects easily without asking for a password. When I clicked on the Wireless network Connections....I found my router that says "Unsecured Wireless Connection"

However I wanted to have it "secured" or password-enalbled so that no one else can have free access to my Internet connection.

Please advise a newbie....will be greatly appreciated :smileyhappy:
melak

Re: How to setup password to protect my wireless home network

I assume your running a v5, to check, look on the bottom of the router and next to to WRT54G will be your version

1. for a password, go to the config page, wireless, wireless security, and pick a security mode and password (mind you though, your laptop should only need to have you enter the pass once, after that it will remember the pass)

2/3. then click on wireless mac filtering, edit mac filter list, and then wireless client mac list to see the mac address, and name of all wireless devices connected to your 54G
dinoalbert

HI melak!

Thanks for the reply...been waiting for it for the whole day LOL!

Anyway, mine is version 7.

Do I have to do both 1 and 2/3 of your advice or I can just do the no.1?