Reply
Posts: 855
Registered: ‎02-11-2013

Re: Linksys E4200 PPPoE problems


Robert9262 wrote:
@ylime1984 - This morning the problem is back with a vengeance. The kids were trying to watch National Geographic and it was choppy and kept stopping. We needed to wait for a minute or two and then reload the page and re-position the video playback. Finally I just disconnected the router, plugged the modem directly into the computer and we watched 4 National Geographic episodes without a single incident.

If you have tried the MTU also and still having the same problem then it might really be a hardware issue. MTU for DSL is 1472 or 1400 just in case you have not tried that.

Posts: 9
Registered: ‎02-21-2013

Re: Linksys E4200 PPPoE problems

Because I've got an Linksys E4200 v1 I was able to install Tomato (it doesn't work with v2).

I found a helpful discussion here: http://tomatousb.org/forum/t-441228

And found the firmware here: http://www.4shared.com/file/8-9fjw2o/tomato-K26USB-12804971MIPSR2-T.html

 

I downloaded this file:

    tomato-E4200USB-NVRAM60K-1.28.0497.1MIPSR2-Toastman-VLAN-RT-N-VPN.bin

and installed it with the default Cisco firmware under Administrive.

 

I then did a 30-30-30 reboot, changed the admin password, enabled DHCP, configured PPPoE and everything - including the 5GHz - is working wonderfully.

 

The DHCP is working, which it wasn't with the built-in firmware.

 

Robert

 

Expert
Posts: 2,736
Registered: ‎07-07-2012

Re: Linksys E4200 PPPoE problems

Just to clarify luci.evening.star's mtu post.....

The mtu for most pppoe in USA is 1492. But not all.

Some countries like Turkey use 1472.

It's best to check mtu rather than guess if you have pppoe Internet connection type on a linksys.
Expert
Posts: 2,736
Registered: ‎07-07-2012

Re: Linksys E4200 PPPoE problems

Posts: 4
Registered: ‎07-07-2012

Re: Linksys E4200 PPPoE problems

Its been about 5 months since I am running DD-WRT (DD-WRT v24-sp2 (04/07/12) mini - build 18946M NEWD-2 K2.6 Eko) 

 

Rock solid, no issues. 

Posts: 4
Registered: ‎07-07-2012

Re: Linksys E4200 PPPoE problems

hope this works for you... for me it didn't. I spent multiple sessions with Cisco support, also spent a couple of days troubleshooting and monitoring.

In short, tried everything I could possibly try. 

 

Except PPPoE though, these are solid routers with good perfomance. It is indeed strange why Cisco has not corrected this flaw which exists across multiple models. 

Posts: 9
Registered: ‎02-21-2013

Re: Linksys E4200 PPPoE problems

Thanks luce.evening.star.
I had actually tried lowering the MTU without success.
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎02-21-2013

Re: Linksys E4200 PPPoE problems

Hey GodwinMatt,
Have you considered Tomato firmware?
If you have a version 1 I found it very easy to install and rock solid so far.

https://robertmccarter.com/upgrading-linksys-e4200-with-tomato-firmware/

Robert
Posts: 1,830
Registered: ‎04-22-2012

Re: Linksys E4200 PPPoE problems


Robert9262 wrote:
Thanks luce.evening.star.
I had actually tried lowering the MTU without success.

This may be a firmware or hardware issue for E4200 v1 since other users are saying that PPPoE in v2 is working fine as well as using tomato firmware, the connection is fine. To isolate further, if the router is still within warranty, have it replaced. Configure the replacement unit the same way and observe if the same problem is experienced. If yes then we can say this is a firmware issue.

Posts: 9
Registered: ‎02-21-2013

Re: Linksys E4200 PPPoE problems

Thanks jaymay,

Unfortunately, it's not within warranty, which is why I installed Tomato.

Version 2 uses a completely different chip-set, so I assume that Cisco's firmware is pretty different which is why it probably doesn't have a problem with PPPoE.

There's no way I would buy a replacement E4200v1 router just to check if it also has the same problem (especially when earlier posts in this thread have indicated it takes about a year to get Cisco to refund money). Installing the Tomato firmware was free and easy, and now the router works.