Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Do you mean 
Ichigo

Need help with wireless speeds..

[ Edited ]
I just got myself a WRT54GS wireless router and i have noticed the speeds being extremely slow. I've gone through all of the threads and didn't get anything that could help.  I have tried what some mention, about changing the beacon interval to 50 and the Frag and RTS to 2304. Also i have changed the wireless channel a couple of times. Still nothing..

Now onto my connection in general, i have cable and the speeds when direct connected are very fast. I typically download at about 300kb+ and i can get mb download speeds as well.  But while hooked up wirelessly it has been going at about 20kbs. When i try and watch streaming videos and all, it will be break up and all of that..due to the slow speed.  BTW i don't believe there is anything interfering at all. The comp is in the same room as the router as well

This is my first time dealing with wireless, so any info and help would be greatly appreciated. What are some good ways to get the speeds up?  The comp i have is new as well lol  I know it limits a lot of the help, but this is a pain in the butt. Thanks

Message Edited by Ichigo on 07-22-2007 10:13 AM

Message Edited by Ichigo on 07-22-2007 11:58 AM
Carrot

Re: Need help with wireless speeds..

first off , ensure that the router has the latest firmware .... then change the wireless settings on the router
ssid - any non-linksys name
channel - either 1,9 or 11

if this doesn't make any difference , try updating the wirelss adapter's drivers...

Ikester

If wireless security is not a issue then leave your router open.  All security methods will slow your speed down due to the extra steps to secure everything.  Try hard wiring your new PC to the router and see if it makes any difference on the speed.
Richard Aichner (Ikester)
Ichigo

[ Edited ]