Reply
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎09-29-2012

No power button on Linksys E3200

[ Edited ]

I just got my new router today but i don't see a power button on the back of this unit.  Am i blind?  Of course the unit comes on when i plug in the adapter but i don't see a on off switch.

Expert
Posts: 2,736
Registered: ‎07-07-2012

Re: No power button on Linksys E3200

Most Cisco/linksys consumer routers don't have a on/off switch.  If you want to turn off,  you can just unplug power.

Expert
Posts: 1,527
Registered: ‎03-19-2009

er Re: No power button on Linksys E3200

Hi Jammers,

 

The router doesn't have a physical power switch.

Posts: 6
Registered: ‎09-29-2012

Re: er Re: No power button on Linksys E3200

Now why would they not put a on off button of their routers? Almost any device kind of device has a power button.

Expert
Posts: 5,427
Registered: ‎11-11-2008

Re: er Re: No power button on Linksys E3200

What do you expect for cheap disposable routers... it's a cost thing.

Expert
Posts: 2,736
Registered: ‎07-07-2012

Re: er Re: No power button on Linksys E3200

And one less part that can go bad.  

 

 

Posts: 1,830
Registered: ‎04-22-2012

Re: No power button on Linksys E3200


Jammers wrote:

I just got my new router today but i don't see a power button on the back of this unit.  Am i blind?  Of course the unit comes on when i plug in the adapter but i don't see a on off switch.


Hi! I think it depends on which country you are in. For example, in UK, it's really mandatory or required for all devices/equipments/machines to have a power button as it is mandated on their law. Main reason is for safety purposes.

Expert
Posts: 5,427
Registered: ‎11-11-2008

Re: No power button on Linksys E3200


jaymay wrote:

Hi! I think it depends on which country you are in. For example, in UK, it's really mandatory or required for all devices/equipments/machines to have a power button as it is mandated on their law. Main reason is for safety purposes.


Yes, and we knowhow much more it cost over there too.