Reply
northbanker
Posts: 142
Registered: ‎03-05-2012

Re: Official E4200v2 Firmware v2.0.36 (Build 126507) Feedback Thread


rskunath wrote:

Per the Linksys FAQ:

 

Beacon 50

RTS - 2306

Fragmentation - 2307


This for both radios.

Accessed this way on the E4200V2:

http://xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx/Wireless_Advanced.asp


Can you post the Linksys FAQ URL which includes that advice?  Thanks.

 

This "secret" page is a revelation.  I remember seeing these settings NOT hidden on older devices/firmwares but I guess Cisco chose to bury this stuff really deep for the newer ones! (not trusting the average home user I suppose)

 

I've just set up a V1 tonite for the first time, running this latest firmware 1.0.04.  It seems to be working but it's too early to tell about wireless drops and other erratic behavior.  Is there any centrailized web-based info that advises on what tweaks to make in stock firmware settings so as to maximize uptime, performance, etc?

rskunath
Posts: 85
Registered: ‎03-15-2012

Re: Official E4200v2 Firmware v2.0.36 (Build 126507) Feedback Thread

tiredofcisco
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎03-15-2012

Re: Official E4200v2 Firmware v2.0.36 (Build 126507) Feedback Thread


rskunath wrote:

http://homecommunity.cisco.com/t5/forums/replypage/board-id/Wireless_Routers/message-id/225018

 

There you go.

 

This was recommended to me by Cisco.

 


That link brings you to a reply page to this thread. Not the correct link.

rskunath
Posts: 85
Registered: ‎03-15-2012

Re: Official E4200v2 Firmware v2.0.36 (Build 126507) Feedback Thread

tiredofcisco
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎03-15-2012

Re: Official E4200v2 Firmware v2.0.36 (Build 126507) Feedback Thread


rskunath wrote:

http://www6.nohold.net/Cisco2/ukp.aspx?pid=80&login=1&app=search&vw=1&articleid=1420

 

Try that.


That link says to set it to 2304/2304 and not 2306/2307 as you posted.

 

Thanks for the link though.

rskunath
Posts: 85
Registered: ‎03-15-2012

Re: Official E4200v2 Firmware v2.0.36 (Build 126507) Feedback Thread

[ Edited ]

http://www6.nohold.net/Cisco2/GetArticle.aspx?docid=266cc1c7b97c458fb04c2da21f985828_List_of_Common_...

 

I think that is the page I was directed to. I had originally printed the page out.

 

Hope that helps. It does a little explaining why the setting changes work.

gmyoung
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎02-12-2012

Re: Official E4200v2 Firmware v2.0.36 (Build 126507) Feedback Thread

When will the wireless printing for Mac OS be fixed? I have been waiting since December!!!!!

alexpav
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎03-17-2012

Re: Official E4200v2 Firmware v2.0.36 (Build 126507) Feedback Thread

[ Edited ]

alexpav wrote:

Hi folks,

 

Can someone assist me in changing broadcasting Country Code on this router?

 

I can see on my mac this:

 

en1: 802.11d country code set to 'RU'

 

That's why wi-fi N becomes inaccessible...


I found that E4200 v2 even don't broadcast Country Code for some reason (last 2 rows)...

 

 

bash-3.2$ ./airport -s
                            SSID BSSID             RSSI CHANNEL HT CC SECURITY (auth/unicast/group)
            SmileNet153729092011 14:d6:4d:e9:1f:90 -81  11,-1   Y  GB WPA(PSK/AES,TKIP/TKIP) WPA2(PSK/AES,TKIP/TKIP) 
              alexseich infoline 1c:bd:b9:b1:7e:64 -84  11,-1   Y  GB WPA(PSK/AES,TKIP/TKIP) WPA2(PSK/AES,TKIP/TKIP) 
                          net007 84:c9:b2:a1:60:92 -77  11      N  RU WPA(PSK/TKIP/TKIP) WPA2(PSK/TKIP/TKIP) 
                           SERII 1c:7e:e5:d0:61:ca -86  1,+1    Y  RU WPA(PSK/TKIP,AES/TKIP) WPA2(PSK/TKIP,AES/TKIP) 
                   Cisco 2.4 GHz 58:6d:8f:f8:ef:b4 -44  2,+1    Y  -- WPA2(PSK/AES/AES) 
                       Putin VOR 58:6d:8f:f8:ef:b6 -63  36,+1   Y  -- WPA2(PSK/AES/AES) 

 

 
october8th
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎03-21-2012

Re: Official E4200v2 Firmware v2.0.36 (Build 126507) Feedback Thread

I am having the exact same issue - did you find a way to resolve this?

OK, long term (every 2 days or so, sometimes 5 days) with heavy Xbox Live use, I lose the ability (wired or wireless) to connect to Xbox Live. Connection test on the Xbox shows Internet OK, but can't connect to Xbox Live. The only method of recovery I've found is to reboot the router. I believe it is a bug somewhere within the UPnP. Anyone else seeing this or have suggestions? My PC and Android connections all work great, btw, but I haven't tried running any online PC games when this happens.
Ultrahub
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎04-03-2012

Re: Official E4200v2 Firmware v2.0.36 (Build 126507) Feedback Thread

Its unfortunate that this router's media server is a 'lite' version of the Twonky server. Specifically, the limitation of 8000 media files for the media server. This is NOT documented on the retail box and the vendors I've talked to are not aware of this limitation.

 

In terms of performance and ease of setup, this is a 'flagship' router for home networking. The next firmware update must remedy this limitation ASAP.