Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Do you mean 
triumphshowdog
Accepted Solution

Problem connecting to http://192.168.1.1 webpage to manually set router

I'm new to using routers. I have a hybrid linksys WRT54G router with both wired and wireless capability that's a few years old. When I try to get onto the linksys manual router settings webpage at http://192.168.1.1, the page comes out "corrupted", i.e., it's obviously the right webpage, but lacking titles, tabs, labels, etc., on various parts of the webpage. This makes the page unusable to manually set the router. This occurs when I try to use either PC in my home to access this webpage. The router seems to be working well with both PC's in all other aspects. I was able to use the CD that came with the router to set up the network. I wanted to use the web-based settings to increase the security of the wireless part of the network. If there's anyone out there who can help, I'd be very grateful.
toomanydonuts

Re: Problem connecting to http://192.168.1.1 webpage to manually set router

To view the router's web pages:

You do not need an Internet connection. The router's "web pages" are built into the router.
Use Internet Explorer, it usually works.
JavaScript must be enabled.
Use a computer that is wired to the router.
In the non-working computer, temporarily turn off your software firewall.

Point your browser to 192.168.1.1 , then login to your router. Your user name should be left blank. Your password is "admin" (with no quotes), unless you changed it.

If you are using Zone Alarm, right click on the ZA icon in the system tray (lower right corner of screen) and then click "Shutdown ZoneAlarm", and see if this fixes your problem. If this does not work, try the following with Zone Alarm: Open the ZAISS control center, go to Privacy, then temporarily turn off Ad Blocking and Cookie Control, and see if that fixes your problem.