friedeggs

Router Blocking Google

Heres a weird one.....Ive been using a Linksys WRT54GX (SRX200) router for about 8 months with minimal issues.......Recently I discovered that my laptop is unable to go to www.google.com (or any other google produc t for that matter) when using the wireless connection....the screen just times out after a while.......I can go to any site on the web......but not google.....I just discovered tonight that when I connect the laptop to the router with the etherlink cable directly.....google works, no problem.......I've kept my router firmware up to date and reinstalled the latest again tonight, but to no avail......I also disabled the router firewall and tried it but that didnt work......I have no issues with my desktop (which is hardwired to the router)......I know google isnt the end all, be all...but its kind of annoying........any help is appreciated.....thanks
pennylane

Re: Router Blocking Google

What firmware version are you using right now? Are you sure that it's of the latest?

Click here for your firmware.

If you also look on the firmware version info. on the link I gave above, there are no known issues about this router not being able to open up google.
friedeggs

Actually I just reset my router to the default settings and set it up again. The problem disappeared...Thanks....
Nitrate

I had the same problem with the WRT54GX2 and both of my WMP54GX PCI cards. Changing the encryption method from AES to TKIP fixed it.
soldidude

I am having the exact same problem with the WRT54GXv2. I have updated to the latest firmware, reset the router, etc. etc. All to no avail.

Changing router to defaults and reconfiguring, changing encryption types, etc. are not acceptable solutions. This periodically happens with other sites as well, but since I use gmail, this is a major problem now.

It is transient with the other sites so probably will be with Google. Something is going wrong with the routing tables.