Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Do you mean 
Reply
voodoort
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎07-28-2011
Accepted Solution

SE2500 & E3000 not connecting to each other

I had a little one port wireless switch that I just upgraded to the SE2500.  The problem is my home audio reciever and squeezebox aren't connecting to my network now that I upgraded.  The E3000 isn't seeing the SE2500 at all, nor is it seeing the devices connected to it.  Everything else that's wirelessly connecting to the E3000 is connecting just fine (Tablet, Laptop, Desktop, etc.) but anything connected via wired to the SE2500 is not showing up whatsoever.  Help!

Expert
sabretooth
Posts: 5,327
Registered: ‎11-11-2008

Re: SE2500 & E3000 not connecting to each other

Please describe how everything is physically connected.

voodoort
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎07-28-2011

Re: SE2500 & E3000 not connecting to each other

E3000 is connected to DSL modem and desktop computer.  SE2500 is connected to reciever and squeezebox approximately 20 feet away (through walls).  Laptop and tablet use wireless from the E3000 to connect to the internet.  Reciever and squeezebox are the only two devices with problems connecting to the rest of the network.

Carrot
Posts: 3,271
Registered: ‎09-07-2006

Re: SE2500 & E3000 not connecting to each other

So the scenario that you mentioned that the devices connected to SE2500 by wired connection are not getting recognized.... In this concern could tell us the light status when the device is connected on the port with the cable... Did you try changing the cables connected...

 

Could you tell us that on which port did you connect the E3000 with the SE2500...

voodoort
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎07-28-2011

Re: SE2500 & E3000 not connecting to each other

The SE2500 has the reciever and squeezebox connected to it.  Ports 1 and 2.  The cables are brand new, but I did swap them out with no luck whatsoever just in case.  I'm using CAT6, 3' cables from the reciever and squeezebox to the SE2500.  The SE2500 is not physically connected to the E3000.  I'm trying to use the wireless features to connect to the E3000.  The status lights for ports 1 and 2 for the SE2500 are both light solid green.  They are not blinking.

hiptechboy
Posts: 1,557
Registered: ‎01-03-2011

Re: SE2500 & E3000 not connecting to each other

[ Edited ]

voodoort wrote:

 

 The SE2500 is not physically connected to the E3000.  



How else do you expect to get a connection to the router? You have to physically connect an ethernet cable from the router to one of the ports on the switch. The SE2500 isn't a wireless bridge. 

I don't work for Cisco. I'm just here to help.
voodoort
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎07-28-2011

Re: SE2500 & E3000 not connecting to each other

Well son of a gun.  I feel dumb now.  Thanks for the help!

 

Would my single port wireless bridge make the SE2500 work fine via wireless then?

hiptechboy
Posts: 1,557
Registered: ‎01-03-2011

Re: SE2500 & E3000 not connecting to each other

I would think so. What is the model number of the bridge? 

 

Cisco also sells an all-in-one bridge/switch: WES610N , but it is kind of pricey. 

I don't work for Cisco. I'm just here to help.
Expert
sabretooth
Posts: 5,327
Registered: ‎11-11-2008

Re: SE2500 & E3000 not connecting to each other

Connectivity by osmosis is not an exact science... yet.  :smileyindifferent: