Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Do you mean 
Reply
torresp1951
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎11-20-2008

The WRT54G Wireless Router and WPA2 Router Security

I have a Linksys WRT54Gwireless router but do not know if it originall comes with the WPA2 security capability or do I have to buy a new router? Can anyone help with my questions?

 

Peter

Klatch
Posts: 2,829
Registered: ‎09-07-2006

Re: The WRT54G Wireless Router and WPA2 Router Security

Login into http://192.168.1.1, leave the username and password - admin

Click on wireless and click on the subtab - wireless security.

Under security if you can find wpa and wpa2 then your router supports, else you need to go for a different model.

picohat
Posts: 625
Registered: ‎08-19-2007

Re: The WRT54G Wireless Router and WPA2 Router Security

Yep..WRT54G supports WPA2 encryption.. I got one and here is the way I configured this wireless router.
torresp1951
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎11-20-2008

Re: The WRT54G Wireless Router and WPA2 Router Security

Dear Friend. Thanks for the feedback. I tried to do that but my browser did not take me to the Linksys router maiun controll panel. It said oops and took me to a page not found page. I am unable to reach the linksys controll panel. I do recall at one time being able to reach the same Linksys controll panel by entering http://192.168.1.1 and it worked. Now it does not work.

 

Note I have the 2009 Norton's Internet Security running on my computer and it has a Network controll panel. Could this be the problem?

 

Peter

torresp1951
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎11-20-2008

Re: The WRT54G Wireless Router and WPA2 Router Security

Hi There, Thank you as this information is very helpful and I have book marked the page for future wireless networking referancing.

 

Peter

picohat
Posts: 625
Registered: ‎08-19-2007

Re: The WRT54G Wireless Router and WPA2 Router Security

You need to configure your computer to have IP 192.168.1.x, such as 192.168.1.100 or 192.168.1.210 with netmask 255.255.255.0, then test to ping the router IP 192.168.1.1. If it works, then test to go to router management page. You can temporary disable the firewall programs on your computer until you've solved this problem.